Alonso beats Schumi one last time: 2006 Autosport Awards announced

Autosport claims its 2006 Autosport Awards is motor sport's biggest night of the year. We won't touch that claim, but we will bring you some of the more interesting award recipients. Perhaps the most controversial one is the award for International Racing Driver. Dubbed as the last showdown between the god-like Michael Schumacher who has since retired from racing and the brash, young Fernando Alonso, the award was given to Alonso, which seemed only fitting since the Spaniard nabbed the F1 Driver's Championship from Schumacher at the tail end of the Ferrari pilot's final season of racing. The Pioneering and Innovation Award was given to the diesel-powered Audi R10 that dominated the 12 Hours of Sebring, 24 Hours of Le Mans and the American Le Mans Series, despite the latter organizers' attempts to hold back Audi's pair of oil burners in the face of competition that just couldn't keep up. The R10, however, did not win the Racing Car of the Year Award, which went to Fernando Alonso's ride, the Renault R26. The Rally Car of the Year Award likewise went to the ride that captured that sport's Manufacturer's Championship, the Ford Focus. Follow the Read link to see what other awards were presented and who walked away with honors at the 2006 Autosport Awards.

[Source: Autosport]

Share This Photo X