Shortlist for European Car of the Year announced

The European Car of the Year committee has just announced the shortlist for this year's award. Instead of the usual seven cars, the list includes eight of the original 41 contenders. The list now includes the Citroën C4 Picasso, Fiat Grande Punto, Ford S-Max, Honda Civic, Opel/ Vauxhall Corsa, Peugeot 207, Skoda Roomster and Volvo C30. Left off the short list are such notables as the Alfa Romeo Brera, Toyota RAV4, Mazda MX-5, Jaguar XK, and Fiat Sedici/ Suzuki SX4. The 58 voting members will now use this list in the next round of voting, with the winning car to be announced on November 13.

The European Car of the Year award is now in its 44th year. It is organized by a non-profit group of volunteers from Europe's 7 largest auto publications; Auto ( Italy), Autocar (UK), Autopista (Spain), Autovisie (Holland), L'Automobile Magazine (France), Stern (Germany), and Vi Bilägare (Sweden). A panel of 58 European auto journalists then do the voting. The Car of the Year trophy is presented to the winning car manufacturer in January. They are then entitled to use the title and the distinctive Car of the Year logo the following year in their promotions.

[Sources: Channel 4, Car of the Year]

Share This Photo X