A brighter day for the Volkswagen team in Stage 10, as Carlos Sainz (shown above in Stage 9) handed VW its fourth stage victory, the same number held by arch-rival Mitsubishi. Sainz beat Mitsubishi's Nani Roma by more than four minutes in the 333 km Special Stage.

Meanwhile, the third place Touareg of Giniel de Villiers cut the gap to the second place Mitsubishi of Luc Alphand to 23 min 13 sec, after Alphand lost 35 minutes in a collision with a tree.

Mitsubishi's Stephane Peterhansel continues to cruise atop the leaderboard, now with 40 minutes in hand over Alphand, and over an hour on de Villiers. American Mark Miller (VW) has steadily improved his position after his disaster earlier in the rally, and now lies 6th overall.

[Sources: dakar.com, Volkswagen Motorsports]

Share This Photo X