3 Articles
1 / 1

As if there could be any more drama before the 2009 F1 season begins, the recently (and hastily) implemented change to the points system has now been thrown out. This year's "winner take all" format was a variation on the gold medal system Bernie Ecclestone proposed last year that was likewise rejected by the teams.


It appears that Formula One's new scoring system has few friends in the pitlane. Renault's Fernando Alonso and Toyota's Jarno Trulli have already blasted it, and now reigning champ Lewis Hamilton from McLaren and former champion Michael Schumacher have similarly disparaged the new system that awards the championship to whichever driver wins the most races. Hamilton went so far as to say, "I think it's a shame what's happening to Formula 1." We should note that had the new scoring system been in


The current points system in Formula One racing rewards 10 points to the driver who comes in first place, 9 to second place and 8 to third. The system was expanded in 2002 to offer points up to 8th place, which was intended to loosen Michael Schumacher's vice-like grip on winning at the time. With Schumi gone, the points system has come under fire for rewarding consistent driving over outright winning. Take last year's champ, Lewis Hamilton. He won five races and otherwise drove well enough in t

1 / 1
Share This Post

Drivers Championship Questions

There are no questions about this topic.
Be the first to ask!

From Our Partners

Cars for Sale Near You