2012 Volkswagen Routan Reviews

4 out of 5

Great ride quality. Family hauler with character

Feb 01, 2012

I got the Routan because my wife wanted a minivan. I never though I would enjoy the think but I take it out all the time for fun and function. It has quick acceleration and family friendly features we all enjoy. VW has been 1st class when getting, zero cost service. We recommend the Routan.

2012 Volkswagen Routan SEL_Premium__4dr_Passenger_Van

Review of 2011 Volkswagen Routan

May 21, 2011

My family preferred this van because of the style and maybe a little more exclusive too. The handling is best in class. Quick off the line and fun to drive. High quality and abundant creature features make it an outstanding ride for a family used to large SUVs. Zero cost customer service is 1st class too. We DO recommend the sporty Routan.

2011 Volkswagen Routan SEL_Premium__4dr_Passenger_Van

Love the Routan SEL

Jul 07, 2010

The family hauler we all enjoy. Reliable and well appointed features are everywhere. The SEL has a V6 4.0 Liter which is very quick. We have recommended to friends who now own a Routan too.

2010 Volkswagen Routan SEL Premium4dr Passenger Van

Our Family dugs our Routan SEL

May 12, 2010

The VW handling and ride quality coupled with the quick 4.0 V6 6 speed make a winning formula. Family friendly features are everywhere. The mpg has been better than we expected. We like the leather captains seats and power doors & hatch. The dealer has been great on our free maintenance too. After 10 months we think it a great van and would recommend it to anyone. Get the 4.0 V6 ..punch dub!

2009 Volkswagen Routan SEL Premium4dr Passenger Van

Great minivan

Apr 03, 2009

Although the Volkswagen Routan is similar to the Chrysler Town and Country, I think it has a unique look and feel that makes it worthwhile to check out. After test driving most of the minivans out there, I test drove the Routan and loved it. We ended up buying the SEL/RES model and so far it has been great for our family. It seemed so much more sporty and less "minivanish" than the competitors. It was actually fun to drive. It handled well and has a great interior design with an awesome rear seat entertainment package. I agree with some other reviews I have read that some of the interior parts could be improved, such the front console, however at least it is removeable. There is a very cheap flip up console in the Odyssey that you cannot take out, so it hinders movement to the back of the van. In the Routan, it is very easy to move around the van and tend to the kids. My wife and three kids love our new Routan just as much as I do.

2009 Volkswagen Routan SEL Premium4dr Passenger Van

please please please get the T5 over here

Feb 04, 2009

You guys are wasting time with this Routan family van. Your marketing department should all be fired. Volkswagon is fading away from what made Volkswagon Volkswagon. Does anyone over here understand how incredibly well designed the T5 is and that it continues a well established lineage? Why has Volkwagon designed yet another non-descript van for the US market. Ouch! My 2002 Eurovan MV is moving on in years (mileage) and I will need an upgrade. No way will I consider this main-stream family van. Help us! There is a large market awaiting the T5. You guys like to make a buck don't you? Then get moving!

2009 Volkswagen Routan SE4dr Passenger Van

Why not the T5?

Dec 19, 2008

Why would VW waste its resources on this one? VW should have modified its Eurovan T5 to comply with NHSTA, instead.

2009 Volkswagen Routan

looks good, what happend to the original?!?

Oct 13, 2008

i must say i like the styling on the routan, but from what i have seen and read its gas mileage isnt as good as the eurovans, altho the downside to the eurovan is that it only takes premium gas, the milage on long distance trips is remarkable. Chrysler did a good job with this van but even with vw's suspension tuning, it just cant equal the eurovan's, the routan back end sags like crazy, not as bad as standard american vans when loaded. the eurovan doesnt sag much and stays level, even when loaded to the max. vw should have kept the eurovan going and just added to it and continued to advance it throughout the years but they didnt and lost one of the best, and least known about/advertised vehicles the have. anyone who sees a routan will see a crysler. when they see a eurovan they are like, wow ive never seen that van before, and it calls lots of good attention and, we are asked where they can get one. too bad vw stopped making them in 2004

2009 Volkswagen Routan

I own a chrysler and a vw

Sep 21, 2008

I own a Chrysler Towne and Country. Other than routine maintenance, my 2001 car with 127,000 mommy van miles has cost me $3,300. I love this car, it has been quite reliable. We have a 2001 VW New Beatle, it has fewer miles. The maintenance costs are 4 times the cost of the Chrysler. The plastic parts in the interior are awful. Four or five pieces that cover certain "guts" have broken and had to be replaced several times...so much for your "fine interior" The dashboard rattles unless you put your hand on it. An a/c grate broke which will cost over $700 to fix. Couldn't start it many times. A Premier AAA towing card is a must, because you have to tow it to VW to even get into the car if, per chance, your key stops working along with the constant engine failure. If the "check engine" light is on, it's probably one of their computer glitches which will cost you about $500. And unfortunately, you can not get your car inspected until the "check engine" light is turned off ...VW's are the worst cars in the universe. Their customer service, prices are terrible. The last place we took this hunk of junk, cost us $4,000 (although VW wanted to charge us $6,500 for EXACTLY the same thing), because of something THEY did not detect (when it had been in the shop less than a MONTH before) flew off and hit the engine, stopping the car in the middle of the freeway. The car has cost us about $12,000 extra. ...Now we are taking it to a non- vw shop that deals with these foreign cars and the car appears to be ok...maybe. BUY THE CHRYSLER EQUIVALENT!!!!!

2009 Volkswagen Routan

buy a chrysler and save $10k

Sep 21, 2008

you didnt go into enough explaination about the partnership with chrysler. it is the same as a chrysler town and country except for the lights front and back and the hood. the engine and transmission are all chrysler. so you get the same vehicle and a better warranty for ten thousand less. i love minivans and i would rather spend my money on my kids than on a car.

2009 Volkswagen Routan SEL 4dr Passenger Van

1 / 2

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: