MSRP
$16,215 - $29,280
Advertisement

'99-'15 Volkswagen Jetta Owner Reviews

Average Rating

109 Owner Reviews

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

the VW‘s car is not safety

Feb 08, 2015 by: AOL user
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

apart from New Jettathere are too many defect in the VWs carfor examplethe Tiguan is easy to burnonly a little collision can burn it, the Magotan,its chain of engine is bad, frequently fail to start, etc.,so anyone want to buy a car, he should be careful to choose.

One of the best cars ive ever driven

Sep 14, 2014 by: AOL user
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

I bought this as my first car in May of 2014 with 115,xxx miles on it from a buy here pay here type dealership in downtown orlando, this was a vehicle that had not been well taken care of before i purchased it. Therefor alot of my money has gone into returning the vehicle into its former glory. The vehicle had been driven hard forever and the transmission was beginning to die on me but after a common place repair it became a very quick and very agile road monster that would never stand down to any type of challenge. Ive only ever had problems withe overheating once and that was due to a broken water pump that i personally broke trying to be a racecar driver but other than that and small here and there repairs (oil change, spark plugs, injectors,) which were all performed by myself it is an amazing vehicle and i am glad to own it.

Miserable Car

Jan 29, 2014 by: AOL user
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

All I can say is that my VW Jetta was in the shop more than it was on the road. Two transmissions, electrical problems, security system problems, over heating, and it was not abused and maintained. Got rid of it at 30,000 miles. Not a reliable car, therefore, would not recommend anyone buying one.

2013 tdi jetta

Jul 09, 2013 by: jimhatgse
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

i love 46 miles to the gal of fuel great car

2009 Jetta TDI with DSG.

Jan 25, 2012 by: richardjoe
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

I fell in love with this car the first time I drove it. Now, after 60,000 miles over almost 3 years, I still love the car. Yes the car can be a little more expensive to maintain but choosing the right the dealer makes the difference. Some dealers charge more, almost twice the price for the same service I've found. Shop around, if you can or find an independent garage that works on VW's Diving through the mountains of W. Virginia on I-90, and east of Morgantown W Virginia on I-68 is pure pleasure. The turbo diesel never slows down climbing up the 4 to 5 mile long upgrades. Set the cruise control at 70 mph and forget it. The 236 ft/lbs of torque make you think you've got a V-6. And there is still power left if you need it. The VW never struggles. My 2003 Honda accord with a 5 spd manual, could not hold speed up those mountains because it didn't have the torque. I had to shift to 4th gear. Yes, the honda had more horsepower (165 HP) but lacked the torque (only about 160 ft/lbs.). We also drove the car cross country for 1 month to visit your national parks. New York to Arizona. Going up the road to the top of Masa Verdi was no problem. The DSG Transmission is fun to drive in automatic or manual mode. Coming down again was just as much fun when you used the Sport (S) position on the DSG. It holds the car back by using the engine's torque but can give an instant burst of speed when needed. Look, you get what you pay for. My wife has a 2006 Honda Civic EX with Auto and it is a great car, but the jetta TDI is quieter, gets better fuel milage, is roomier, and more comfortable to drive because the VW sits you higher for a better driving position. She wants a TDI when we give the honda to my son in a few years.

I am more impressed each and every month!!

Mar 18, 2011 by: drjssgolf
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

I purchased my 2011 VW TDI Sportwagon in early October. The only option package was the Panarama Sunroof and 17 inch wheels. I drive about 25 to 30 mixed miles a day. I am getting about 37 to 38 mpg. I have taken one long trip of highway miles and I received 47 mpg. The ride is extremely smooth with very little road noise. The stereo is terrific. I am 6'3" so getting in and out is a bit of a chore because this car is a bit lower than I am used to. The clanking of the diesel is noticeable for about the first 30 seconds but then it is gone. No troubles as of yet......I take it in for it's first 10,000 miles checkup and oilchange in about 4 months which is part of the free maintenance package. As you can tell, I am very happy with my choice.

Bad Car on many levels

Feb 08, 2011 by: AOL user
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

Every car maker has glitches and some have recalls. Therein lies the reason to avoid this car company like the plague. I enjoyed driving the car when it was running. Buying a new car should be a fun experience. This was bad from the delivery of the car that had severe paint flaws from the factory - on the hood where it was noticeable. The car had serious and expensive problems from the beginning and the most frustrating part of owning this car was the way the deal refused to fix anything unless I paid for it. The car was eventually sold to someone who could fix the recurring defects and engineering and manufacturing defects. I was not the only person as over time VW closed dealerships rather than fix the cars and waiting until another generation of buyers came along that could be duped by something they could market without dealing with the buyers of past problem cars and lemons. German engineering my rear end. All the German cars have problems - they just don't do recalls like they should and that's enough of a reason to stay away. BMW, Porche and Mercedes all have serious problems and refuse to take responsibility. They pass the cost to customers - with attitude.

2003 Jetta TDI

Jan 10, 2011 by: AOL user
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

Sorry to hear about doors, leaks, and problems with your Jettas. We have a 2003 TDI and LOVE it. Bought it for the wife when she went back to school. (Traded in a Jeep Liberty Gas Hog) She drove it untill graduation and we loved it so much we bought a 2009 TDI. I have now taken over the '03 as a work car. Average 43 mpg back and forth to work. I also have to commend VW for me fitting comfortably in the car as I am 6'6"and weigh 240. As far as maintenance, again two thumbs ************ my oil by the book . The other filters are changed on schedule. We have two TDI's and looking forward to a third when the little one turns 16. Thinking Beetle TDI ! ! ! ! !

Buyer Beware

Oct 06, 2010 by: airdog91
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

Before you sink your money into a VW, do some serious research into other people's experiences with these cars. Google VW reliability and you will see the serious problems VW has with reliability and overall quality. The dealerships also have a terrible reputation for service. They are fun cars to drive but that's where the fun part ends. As the previous owner of 2 VWs, I can tell you I would buy a 10 year old Japanese car before I'd buy a brand new VW.

VW Quality Exceeds all others

Sep 09, 2010 by: billjclouse
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability
1 2 3 4 11

*The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

Powered by

FIND A GREAT USED CAR

GO
Powered by
Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

Great Auto Loan Rates

Low Rates on New and Used Autos

Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »