2015 Volkswagen GTI Reviews

3 out of 5

Nightmare reliability

Oct 23, 2014

I leased my 2014 GTI in February of 2014 and it has been nothing but problems since day 1. My heater did not work properly and my front tire was losing air about every 5 days from the day I purchased it. To make things worse the dealer wanted me to pay to fix so I had to contact customer care. They eventually did pay to have these fix but I have now had 3 more problems since, including having to put in a new water pump twice. I am tired of having to take my car into the dealer every month and this seems ridiculous to me for a car that is brand new. The reliability of this car is very poor and its sad that Volkswagen does not stand behind their vehicles. Customer service has been terrible.

2014 Volkswagen GTI Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Hatchback


Sep 01, 2014

Purchased a 2014 Drivers Edition in February, 2014. I am totally pleased with every aspect of the car with one glaring exception; it is grossly underpowered compared to the Focus ST. How can Ford get 258 HP and 280 ft lbs of torque out of the same 2.0 liters, and with regular gas? I am aware that you can bump the GTI up to these specs with an after market upgrade to the ECM, but your warranty goes out the window. If VW would certify this upgrade, my GTT would be perfect!

2014 Volkswagen GTI Driver's Edition 4dr Hatchback

Review of 2001 Volkswagen GTI

Oct 03, 2010

2001 Volkswagen GTI GLX2dr Hatchback

There is no competition...

Jan 02, 2010

Superb car - great price for the total package - mine is a metallic black 4-door, DSG, roof, interlagos cloth, bluetooth. Drove it and bought it! The Mark V was an excellent car, but VW have really done the impossible and made this Mark VI a fantastic car. Performance is excellent, strong acceleration, with superior handling and chassis feedback. So far, mpg is 25 and I am sure this will improve. Interior is wonderfully crafted with impressive fit and finish and high quality materials - gives the feel of a much more expensive car. Overall, a superb package that will make you smile everytime you drive it! Some cars like the Mazda 3 Speed and WRX maybe be marginally faster, but none offer the same overall package as the GTI.

2010 Volkswagen GTI 4-Door4dr Hatchback

First of the US Spec Mk V GTIs

Oct 14, 2009

I really like this car. Not the best I've ever owned but a great compromise nonetheless. It does everything I need very well. Brisk acceleration, good gas mileage (mid 20's), outstanding active and passive safety and stunning looks with factory 18" wheels. It also has very low depreciation - not that I'm planning to sell it anytime soon - good to know it's still worth more than almost anything else I could have bought. Mine has the leather heated seats which look great but proved uncomfortable on a recent 500 mile trip. The standard cloth seats may be better, as with almost every GTI I've owned up to now. For a sporty car, it is quite high off the ground. On the track though, with the stability control switched off, the handling is well balanced with a bias toward under steer. Despite some annoyances (airbag warning lights, over optimistic speedometer - both fixed by the dealer - there's a VW tech bulletin for the speedo by the way), I recommend the GTI to anybody seeking a fun, well built, great looking car. It can do the regular chores too.

2006 Volkswagen GTI 2-Door2dr Hatchback

VW GTI and service and dealer follow through is inadequate

Jul 23, 2009

I am glad others here have had good experiences with VW but I have owned 4 since 1976 and the only one that didn't cause major distress was my '76 1/2 Orange Rabbit which ran till the motor fell out around 180,000 miles. My 1986 Golf GTI Rabbit was another story ($12,800 new not $22,800 as currently priced!!!), was plagued with numerous factory defects from glue on the finsihed dashboard, defective moon roof headliner which they tried to fix over 3 years unsuccessfully, defective ignition key switches, alloy rims which bent the first day I owned the car, cracking windshields, defective Pirelli P600 tires, and several incidences of damage inflicted on the black enamel paint and plastic bumpers almost everytime I brought my car in for Warranty service to the dealer whether I went to Bayridge VW in Brooklyn (they were animals) or Walter Donaldson's on Long Island (clueless and now out of business). The cars may roll out of the factory OK but the dealers were all horrible. I have never experienced such lack of care in handling new cars at the dealerships ever anywhere. Both mentioned dealers damaged my vehicles on several occassions during their short stay at the dealerships - complaints to VW headquarters went un-answered. I just gave away my 2002 Passat so it doesn't send me to the poor house. I'm tired of rebuilding the upper end of the 24 Valve system every other month. The dealer said "All it needs is a timimg belt." Right! Buyer beware!

2009 Volkswagen GTI 2-Door - End of Production October 20082dr Hatchback

Sweet ride

Jun 14, 2009

Bought a GTI 8 months ago and do mostly city driving. Getting 25+ mpg with standard transmission. Has good acceleration and I don't baby it when given the opportunity to do a jackrabbit start. I like seeing a bunch of traffic way behind me after the light goes green. Tires squeal easily in first and 2nd gear but I try not to do that. Haven't got a ticket yet as I ease up when hitting the speed limit, but before you know it you're doing 45 or 50 in this one. Not a lot of curves in the city so I don't know much about handling. Brakes work good though. Maybe I can find some curvy roads outside the city where I can ******* a little, if I ever get time. :( Best thing about this car is I can throttle it once in a while and still get good mileage, and with the hatchback its still practical for carrying stuff ( rear seats and front passenger seat fold down flat ). If I have to be somewhere and I'm early I just drive around sometimes as it's fun to drive. Owner's manual says premium gas only as that is ********* been tuned to use. That's what I've been using. I gave it a Quality and Durability rating of 5 stars cause the quality is very good, the durability remains to be seen. :) Got a model with 17" wheels.

2009 Volkswagen GTI 2-Door - End of Production October 20082dr Hatchback


Apr 19, 2009

This is the most fun driving little car I have ever owned !! Plenty of room and lots of get up and go :)

2007 Volkswagen GTI 4-Door4dr Hatchback

Top 10 car regardless of price

Mar 22, 2009

How many times do you get the opportunity to own one of the 10 best of anything in this country without paying a hefty premium for it? Well here's your chance to own of the 10 best cars available in this country for 2009 regardless of price. This rating is provided by Automobile magazine and it's the 2nd year in a row the Volkswagen GTI has won it. Recite those words again, "regardless of price." The next least expensive car on this list is the Honda Fit, and it also includes the BMW M3 and Audi R8, among others. If they selected it from hundreds of other cars theye could have chosen, why would you not at least check it out? Do you think the magazine was paid off or are you smarter than them? The GTI is very affordable, has excellent lease and financing available, and comes with all maintenance included. The only other cars that include maintenance anymore are BMW, Mini, and Volvo. Mini and Volvo are not 10 best cars! It has also been on the Car and Driver 10 best list every year since it was available in this country as a 2006 model. In 2006, it was also the Automobile magazine Car of the Year. It has great performance, is a solid as a rock, has adult-sized back seats, and gets excellent gas mileage. With its solid German feel, I believe the only people who don't buy these are people who never test-drive them. The tremdous feel of the turbo's torque, the quiet ride on highways, supportive front seats, excellent stereo, and sporty handling make it a very well rounded car that can be more than base transportation. It gest MUCH better gas mileage than a Mazda RX-8, has a far supperior fit and finish and interior than a Mustang, a more solid and higher quality feel than an Eclipse, and greater interior room and much better seating than a Mini. And, one more time, did I mention it is one of the 10 best cars available in this country, 2 years in a row, regardless of price as per Automobile Magazine? If those other cars were so good, why were they not chosen? TEST DRIVE!

2009 Volkswagen GTI 2-Door - End of Production October 20082dr Hatchback

Who knew a volkswagon could be so much fun to drive..

Mar 19, 2009

I have a 6sp 2008 GTI. I love the (Sat)radio along w/ the MP3 hookup. The steering handles great! Fuel wise it's ok it could be a little better desipte the turbo engine. The racing seat are comfortable as well as cool looking. The car is quick and shifts into gear very easily. I not a fan of the day time run lights. When comes to road noise the GTI gets a failing grade on this one. The instrument panel is easy to read & helpful w/how gas is left in the tank, the compass is always displayed, & controlling the radio functions from the steering wheel. The warning light from the tire pressure can be alittle annoying because it doesn't indicate which tires needs air. The warning light will stay on until the right amount of air pressure is added into the correct tire. The glove compartment could be somewhat larger as well. Over all im satisfied with the purcahase of the GTI.

2008 Volkswagen GTI 4-Door EOP CW 21/084dr Hatchback

1 / 2

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: