2015 Nissan Xterra Reviews

3 out of 5

Major repairs for the 05-08 model's

Nov 28, 2011

I have a 05 and with only 75k miles the radiator went out, under warranty till 80k. The cost $700 to repair. The 05-08 models are having failure of the transmission as radiator fluid leaks into the transmission! Also these model's are having problems with the timing chain going out. Cost $2,600. Mind you all this happen to me at 70+k miles!! Google this info for your protection!! I hear that changes have been made to the newer models 09-12. But would not recommend buying used under 2009. I will say that Nissan came trough with the warranty at a cost to them of $3,300. But don't think i will ever buy another nissan again! These are major defects that can cost you A LOT of money!

2005 Nissan Xterra SE__4x2


Review of 2010 Nissan Xterra

Sep 06, 2010

This vehicle is aces. I have the off-road package and this is my second Xterra. I had a super charged 2003 that I traded in after 150,000 miles. They are excellent vehicles and extremely durable yet versitale. I have had two other SUV's and this is the only one I purchased a second time. Just this past winter in N.Y. we had record snowfall for this area, 26 inches of snow only to get another 11 inches a few days later. This vehicle had no problem nor issue it could not navigate. An exceptional vehicle, Buy one you won't be sorry.

2010 Nissan Xterra Off Road4dr 4x4

I LOVE MY XTERRA!

Jul 03, 2010

The only problem so far was chipping paint but this problem was corrected by the dealer at no charge to me. THIS IS MY 1ST NISSAN AND I PLAN TO KEEP IT FOR SEVERAL MORE YEARS.

2006 Nissan Xterra SE4x2

xterra 4X4 manual Transmission

Feb 28, 2010

My daughter purchased new manul xterra Nov 09. Manual clutch failed at 5000 miles. Warranty cover denied. Edmunds.com site has 60-70 other owners of 2007-2009 Xterra's with clutch failure from 5000 to 25000 mile ( couple with failure twice in that time). My daughter has driven manual trans for 20+ years. Xterra clutch underdesigned for vehicle. My advise is to avoid manual trans in any Nissan product. Nissan dealer repair is $2400-$2700!!!

2009 Nissan Xterra X4dr 4x4

I'm well satisfied

Dec 20, 2009

After driving the 2010 XTerra, Model X, 4X4 for two months, I have no major complaints whatsoever. All features are in working order, I've gotten over 21 mpg on the highway and 19 mpg around town. It's a rugged, macho machine, truly a solid S-U-V! The ride is a little rough (a far cry from the Buick LeSabre I was used to) but the feeling of safety and command of the road you experience is worth it. If I could do it over again I would have gotten something above the basic "X" model. My vehicle has no running board, which can be a little tricky for shorter people getting on board. Also, the X model has NO DRLs, a safety feature that is worthwhile. Overall, I'm well satisfied. Did I get a "good deal"? Who knows. New car salesmen are much better at bargaining than we mere mortals.

2010 Nissan Xterra X4dr 4x4

Review of 2008 Nissan Xterra

Apr 20, 2009

interior noise very loud, back seat unusable by adult.avg mpg was 8 to 9 mpg. very bad car.

2008 Nissan Xterra

great SUV, but terrible gas mileage

Mar 04, 2009

I know, I know. YOu buy an SUV, you don't expect great gas mileage. Well, the Xterra is a very good SUV, no doubt about ********** just that terrible gas mileage! The high end says 22 mpg. We are lucky if we can get 16 out of it. We don't drive like maniacs and we don't do peel-outs or any other ridiculous types of driving. Mechanics have assured us that everything is running just as it should be and yet, here we are, constantly and continually having to fuel up all the time. As I write this, gas is back down to $2.15/gal but if it should creep up again to the 5 dollar mark, I know my wife and I will be muttering curses on the Nissan engineers and designers again for not whipping up a little something to boost that mileage some more. Also, everytime that I check there is never any of that safety data available on my model and make and year to see just how well it does in a front impact accident simulation. Now why is that? Makes me wonder a little since the data is available out there for so many other vehicles.

2005 Nissan Xterra S4x2

I like it a lot!

Feb 03, 2009

Overall it's a great SUV. Just bought my 2005 in December at Auction in PA. Seems to do everything well. Very happy I didn't get an Explorer.

2005 Nissan Xterra S4x4

Update of an excellent serving vehicle

Jan 23, 2009

We bought our 2005 Xterra at West Texas Nissan, Odessa, TX in April 2006. It was a dealer "program car" with a new car warranty (15k startings miles). I have never purchased a brand new car. We were expecting to be relocated to N. VA, and we needed a vehicle that would provide good service in heavy weather, but not be too expensive to maintain. This vehicle has provided superior service. In the snow, it does not care, and appears to be perfectly balanced to endure any severe weather situation. We are not "off-roaders", but it was off road twice in Texas durning my service as a volunteer fire fighter. I spent 22 years of my adult life in the U.S. Army, and in a tank battalion you spend a lot of time in off road situations. So, my level of experience is good enough to know what I am talking about. That is why I do not normally take a personal vehicle off-road (LOL). This Xterra provides good fuel economy: 23 mpg hwy, 17 mpg city. My uncle had an 06 Ford Ranger with a 4.0 V6, and automatic transmission, very similar to our Xterra, and it only gave 15 mpg at best. He got rid of it. Very disappointed with it. This Xterra now has nearly 70k miles, and still runs well, with no failures. It aways starts up immediately, and is excellent for long trips to see our grandkids 600 miles from our home in Stafford, VA, in NC. One caveot, this is not a sports car. It's a truck, and its performance as such is superior to any I've ever used before, including the military Hummer. My wife loves it. It is the only car she has ever been able to parallel park. Why? She can see all around the vehicle quite well. Good design, and clearances. Best of luck with yours. Norman Prevatte Stafford, VA

2005 Nissan Xterra SE4x4

i like this truck

Nov 10, 2008

just bought this 2001 in cherry cond. original price was 27000 loaded the first owner kept this truck mint my city driving is good due to all the potholes in nyc however i took it on the road to ct. this week and its a great truck if you can purchase a clean used model i highly reccomend this truck well on that note hunting season is this week so ill see how she handles off road if its brown its down

2001 Nissan Xterra SE 4dr 4x4

1 / 4

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: