2016 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class Reviews

4 out of 5

2012 Mercedes-Benz GL450 4-Matic

Oct 24, 2011

2012 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class Base__GL450_4dr_All_wheel_Drive_4MATIC

Great Vehicle

Feb 22, 2010

I have had my mercedes only for about 2 months and i absolutley love it. I have 2 children and there is enough room for all of their stuff. The interior is very nice and overall is a very comfortable ride. The dvd entertainment system and navigation work great. I love the extra third row and the large truck space. Handles well in the snow and rain. Overall, i am highly satisfied with my mercedes.

2010 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class BaseGL550 4dr All-wheel Drive 4MATIC


Jan 27, 2010

I leased this car (320 cdi) in the summer of 2008 and i thought it was a great car at first, it made you feel like you owned the road because it is so big and fairly spacious. I owned a Bmw x5, Volvo xc90, and i now drive a Lexus ls 460. Back to the Merc. It has nice interior but once we were about half a year or so in to our lease. This car began to have problems with the trunk and its power system. The trunk would simply not close right. We took it in to the dealer and after over a week they got it back to us, they had to order a new mechanism to fix the trunk. Then we began having battery malfunctions where the engine wouldn't start. We called the Mercedes roadside service and they gave us a boost. This happened on about four different occasions. And about 1 month ago we began having severe suspension problems where the hydraulics and shock absorbers began to stop working completely. It became so bad that I couldn't drink my coffee without spilling it all over me and the car. So we took it into the dealer. After a week they returned the car. We thought it was ok again. But just today as we were driving down the road, we hear a fairly loud explosion from underneath the car. We pull over and find nothing wrong so we keep going. Then after a few minutes we notice the car is driving un balanced and is unusually bumpy (similar to the feeling of the previous suspension malfunction). So we drive home and when i get home i notice that the car is tilted up, the wheels are in the wheelbase and the car is making weird noises. I am overall displeased with the car. The car is fully loaded, MRSP of almost $100K and we have such inconveniences.

2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class BaseGL320CDI 4dr All-wheel Drive 4MATIC


Sep 04, 2009

I love my car. While its big, it feels like a sedan. I have the Bluetec and can easily get 29 miles per gallon on the highway. The third passenger seat area is huge with a sunroof. I am stopped all the time asked to turn on the car. Most men want to see if the diesel sounds loud. It does not--you can't even tell its diesel. The navigation is a bit cumbersome--not a very intuitive system. All in all a car worth checking out.

2009 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class BaseGL320 BlueTEC 4dr All-wheel Drive 4MATIC

Review of 2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Apr 24, 2009

We love our GL 450. I owned a CLS 500 for a couple of years and as my daughter grew, so did the number of friends. I was heartbroken to give up my sporty car, but after our dealer introduced me to the GL 450 SUV, I drove it and fell in love!! It is so smooth, and handles so well. I highly recommend this vehicle, we haven't had any problems, since purchasing it, 6 months ago. Thanks Mercedes, for making this great SUV !!!!!!

2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class BaseGL450 4dr All-wheel Drive 4MATIC

Review of 2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class

Mar 25, 2009

2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class BaseGL450 4dr All-wheel Drive 4MATIC

GL 320 Diesel

Jan 18, 2009

I purchase the diesel model this past March 2008. So I've owned it for approximately 10 months. My other vehicle was a 1995 Toyota Landcruiser. With the exception of replacing the catalytic converter, it was an exceptional vehicle that I own for almost 13 years and 233k miles. The Toyota felt more solid but GL 320 feels smoother and the mileage is incredible. I now get 600 miles to a tank of diesel as opposed to 300 miles to a tank on the landcruiser. I'm diesel for life now. I've had the following problems with the Mercedes GL320 to date: 1. Oil pressure light too sensitive 2. Tire pressure light to sensitive 3. Truck veers to the right too much (alignment) The following are some of the goods things to date: 1. Very fun to drive with the GPS and satellite radio 2. Heated seats in the second row is great for the kids and great for the wife in the passenger seat 3. Third row seat fits an adult on long trips 4. Low profile which aids to great fuel mileage 5. IPOD integration kit

2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class Base GL320 BlueTEC 4dr All-wheel Drive 4MATIC


Sep 18, 2008

This SUV is so enjoyable to drive.Good diesel gas mileage and comfortable on long trips.Drove to Washington,DC(600miles) on one tank with some to spare.Plan to keep it for a long time.(+15 years).Tight finish with no rattle and response like a cat quickness. People can't believe its a diesel because its so quiet.Spend the money for the extra packages.Its worth it.Great technology and innovations.Doesn't feel like a big SUV and drives like a car.Very happy!

2007 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class Base GL320CDI 4dr All-wheel Drive 4MATIC

A pleasure to drive

Sep 07, 2008

Researched and test drove the GL450, BMW X5 4.8i, and the Acura MDX over a 6-month period. Was able to negotiate a fair price on a GL550 and do not regret getting this SUV. It has the mannerism of a sedan in and around town and a quiet interior at highway speeds. My only issues are the exterior mirrors (too small) and the lack of Real-time traffic update. The 7-speed transmission shifts effortlessly and it has more than enough power for a vehicle weighing in at over 2 1/2 tons.

2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class Base GL550 4dr All-wheel Drive 4MATIC

When you turn it on, it returns the favor!

Aug 07, 2008

Many of us that are over 6'4" have a difficult time finding vehicles that bring the right blend of quiet comfort, handling, horsepower,headroom, knee room, technolgy, appearance, etc. The MBGL450 brings that and more to the table. Yes it gets good mileage for the horsepower. Long trips are a pleasure again. This is the first vehicle that could do 0-100 without feeling that it was going to blow up. We have had ours a year. Everything did and still is working correctly. YEAH! We are spoiled for life! Thanks MB Hello German engineering! Jim Raleigh, NC

2008 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class Base GL450 4dr All-wheel Drive 4MATIC

1 / 2

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: