2013 Mazda MAZDASPEED3 Reviews

5 out of 5

8 Yr owner

2015-08-20 13:16:38

A serious machine. First of all this is the most powerful street car that Mazda has ever made and one of the best handling. It still has more torque than a 2015 Nissan 370Z Nismo and can out maneuver anything near it's price point. With that great handling comes very stiff suspension so to be honest it is a terrible daily driver. It loathes cruising around town at low speeds jarring over every joint in the pavement, but get it on the open road and it becomes a time machine, sometimes arriving at your destination before you ever left. 80mph is the speed it likes to cruise, and there is still plenty of pedal to play with beyond that. I have been lucky enough to do 90 percent of my driving on the open road and enjoy every minute of it. And to all of the AWD is soo superior crowd, I've got news, if you know how to drive it doesn't matter. I grew up in CO and have been driving on ****** roads my entire life, and there is no better feeing than smoking a Subie up Berthoud Pass in the snow in my FWD Mazda, which I have done repeatedly. This car does require a great deal of restraint to drive and will earn you HWY Patrol merit badges. A bone stock 07SPEED3 took 5th place overall in the 2012 Targa Tasmania, "The Ultimate Tarmac Road Race" behind a twin turbo Lambo, a couple of RS Porsches and hyped up EVOS, like I said a serious machine. It's not a zero to sixty car, it doesn't do burnouts or oversteer in to a drift but it also goes unnoticed by most people until you pass them uphill at 10,000 ft doing a bill, thats when people scratch their head and say was that? A well kept performance secret. Zoom Zoom

2007 Mazda MAZDASPEED3


DUFUS

2015-01-14 20:20:54

YOU ARE ALL DUFUS IF YOU LISTEN TO OTHERS WITHOUT TRYING SOMETHING OUT YOURSELF

2013 Mazda MAZDASPEED3

My Speed3

2012-02-08 14:53:01

At first i wasnt crazy about the looks, however it has grown on me in 3 months. Drviving the car really makes up for that front smiley face. Now i know why its smiling. For the price, i believe this is the best deal when you consider everything. First gear is ok but second and third is where i start to have a lot of fun and ive never been in a small car with so much get up and go in sixth gear doing 70mph. Everyday i look forward to getting in this car and having fun. Ive drivin several sports cars, corvettes, porsche just to name a couple, honestly this car is more fun than the newer vettes and fairly close to a porsche especially when you consider price. I am a true car enthusiast, maybe not the most knowledgeable but not bad. Drive it and i gaurrantee youll have fun.

2012 Mazda MAZDASPEED3

ALL SPEED 3 MODELS 2007-2010

2011-03-25 02:51:20

I have 44,000 miles on the car. I'm tired of reading the so called expert auto reviewers who complain about torque steer. One so called expert said there is two ways to drive the car: the high school taught way, releasing the clutch out slowly and put the gas to the pedal or rev the engine to 25-2800 rpm and punch it. Any Dumbo Dinzo from NCIS would know torque steer is going to exist if drive the later way due to the powerful engine. But really, who drives that way unless you don't expect to own the car long because you're going to rip it up.Com'on let's get serious. I have never experienced the type of torque steer all the auto mags like to refer to. Once on the roll from say 5mph you can full throttle it and you are not going have any torque steer unless the wheels are not straight. One moment these "experts" can't stand the car ("one better served with a 2011 WRX but then the WRX ride is too soft and the interior is cheap") but the Speed 3 gives the driver a better feel for the road. It goes on and on if one read all the reviews as I have. Bottom line: You want a librarian car with a bit of excitement ,refinement but no power, get the VW GTI. If you drive in areas where AWD is helpful for the road elements, you want a car for 0-60/quarter mile drags, below average mpg, so so interior layout, soft handling, get the WRX . If you don't need the AWD, you like a 6 speed for better mpg, you want t a more lively feel, and power on the roll to keep up with any car, buy the Speed 3. I have driven all these cars and each has its pros and cons. I would say the WRX and the Speed 3 are the best bang of the buck. Forget the STI. Too expensive for what you can get. Dealers told me they are selling way more WRXs. Now, if Mazda would step to the plate and just put a FWD, that would be the best of all worlds. No TS discussion. Speed 3 is more powerful than the WRX and the handling of the Speed 3 is very close to the STI but would still be cheaper.

2007 Mazda MazdaSPEED3

2010 Speed3 Celestial Blue

2010-11-17 14:51:14

Purchased my 2010 late in the season (Aug) in order to take advantage of local dealer overstock in anticipation of the 2011'********* the streets. I assumed (correctly) that there would be no major upgrades to the 2011's over the 2010's and picked up my car shortly thereafter. It was a toss up between the speed3 and the wrx sti and the speed3 won out hands down. I just didn't feel that the addition of all-wheel drive was worth the nearly 7K increase in purchase price of the WRX. Contrary to professional reviews, I kind of enjoy the torque-steer at WOT. When the turbo kicks in the car has a bit of a wild, out of control edge. Basically, you have to know how to drive the car in inclement weather or you'll have problems quickly. The interior is worlds ahead of the WRX but it does have a few nagging problems. 1- no dimmer. You get daytime and night time lights. If you run your lights on during the daytime (i.e. when it rains, you can't see the dispalys) and the navi screen is way too bright at night. At least give me the option to turn it off. 2-The Gauge bezels are cheap plastic and only moderately attached to said gauges. Two months (3?) of ownership and I'm getting an annoying rattle in the dash that I can't find. 3- The navi system is just crap. I use the TomTom system and hardly ever use the onboard for destinations. 4- This one is the biggest. As much as I love this car, the dealer system and Mazda's support of the vehicle are awful. Rather than embrace owners of the speed3, it seems as though Mazda has taken the tact of treating us like errant children. There are no special perks for owning the model. you don't get customer loyalty point in a speed3 (you do in a regular 3), and they don't offer any speed3 specfic upgrades. I can't even get speed3 winter floormats. Would I purchase this car again knowing all of this? Absolutely. It's a blast to drive, gets looks everywhere, and is decent on gas (avg 29.9 for me).

2010 Mazda MazdaSPEED3

Great Value for really fast car

2009-04-05 09:47:16

I've owned my Speed3 for about 3 months and put around3,000 miles on it. I bought the GT model.I cross shopped a V.W. G.T.I and Cobalt and HHR S.S.s. The quality of the interior in both Chevys were terrible.The V.W. had a slightly better interior but it was substantially more expensive.The V.W. was slower and seemed to handle about the same.Torque steer wasn't a problem in either one. My only problem with the Mazda was the summer tires and the unavailability of a sunroof and heated seats.The shift linkage is also vague at best and the drive by wire throttle isn't very good.The Bose sound system also leaves a lot to be desired when compared to the Monsoon V.W. uses and the Panasonic offered in a Scion.I get around 26 mpg in very spirited suburban driving.If you live where it snows plan on spending $1,000 for snow tires and wheels.I also own a 2002 Protege 5 and a 2002 V.W. GTI 1.8T.Both of these marques have durable, reliable cars about equal on that count.The Speed3 replaced my wife's 2005 Scion tc.The tc had the same drive by wire flaws the Mazda does.V.W seems to do this better.The only difference I could detect between the 2008.5 Speed3 and the 2009 is the addition of lit vanity mirrors for driver and passenger.I'm very happy with my Speed3 especially when price is figured into the decision.This car is faster than it feels, has a very attractive and comfortable interior and a good sounding, unobtrusive exhaust system. This car is really good out of the box and requires no after market tweaks like the GTI does to make it fast and formidable.I also much prefer the Mazda's styling.

2009 Mazda MAZDASPEED3

Speed, Comfort AND Economy

2009-01-07 13:00:46

This little car was purchased on a single look and single test drive (I had called ahead and had a totally different model ready to deliver). One test drive! To the interstate where I found myself doing 95mph while shifting into fourth at the end of the merge lane. 'Had it 10 months now and the reserve power never ceases to amaze me. Where other cars run out of steam (70+), this little darlin' just starts waking up. You will never have a problem passing! Handling is unbelievable for a car in this price range. And then there is the capability to bring it all to a screetching halt if necessary with an incredible set of brakes-often necessary as this car cruises VERY comfortably at 85mph (not legal in most states). As a matter of fact, I've caught myself doing triple digits if not paying attention to the speedometer. My ONLY complaint, as it has been with other HO engines with front wheel drive, it the inevitable torque steer. Mazda has taken many steps to overcome this issue, and compared to others in it's class, has made great strides. But that pull is still visibly noticable on heavy acceleration when the turbo kicks in. One final point for the ecologist. Ninety five percent of my driving is highway so my fuel economy is consistently in the 25+mpg range. When I have consciously attempted to hold it to the speed limit, that figure has jumped to 26.5 mpg. Not a hybrid rating, but then again, it's no 'put along' either. For you gentlemen that have passed that 'minivan' era of your life, give it a try and relive your youth!

2008 Mazda MAZDASPEED3

Fast and fun.

2007-11-07 01:22:52

I got my Mazdaspeed 3 in September 2007 and it is awesome. The power is unrelenting, zero to 60 is just what Mazda sed it would be (around 5.6 sec), and ive had it doing about 150 on a local reace track. But if comfort is what you want you might want to look for another car. This car is not relaxed in any form, proformance or suspension. It's stiff (but it will fly around a corner), the seats are nicely bolsterd but thay arent that good for long distance trips. The interor is nicly put togeather, there is plenty of room (being a hachback and all). The outside is allmost in a "sleeper" styleing, it dose not look like it will go as fast as it will. The MPG are good for a turbo car (I get just over 20mpg) and im not trying to get good MPG. Overall this is a silly fast car for a good budget, I would deffently recommend this car to a friend. (Hurry thow there is only 5000 in the USA)

2008 Mazda MazdaSpeed3

Zoom-Zoom

2007-08-25 09:53:30

The Mazdaspeed3 is real "sport car". Its handling is excellant. Acceleration is unbelievable. It easily achieves the 100 mph + range in 5th gear. (it has a manual 6 speed)

At any speed it sits on the road rock solid, no unusual vibrations, no sign of lightness, or drift. This car gives you a feeling of confidence in any situation.

I do not want to advocate unsafe or illegal driving,but this car can carry you there. It is necessary to exersize a great deal of self control. The faster it is going the better it feels. enough about its performance, suffice it to say ,It is a real thrill to drive.

Its fit and finish in and out is very good.

I have had the car for 8000 miles, our "city" driving averages 29.1, on longer trips we get 32.2. I do not drive to achieve high economy, as I said the car is fun and I drive it that way.

2007 Mazda MazdaSpeed3

1 / 1

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: