2017 Kia Optima Reviews

4 out of 5

Don't waste your money

2015-09-03 21:45:20

We bought our 2009 KIA Optima as a used car, two years old with about 35000 miles on it. For the first year we owned it, it ran well, got good mileage and was comfortable on trips. By the end of our second year, we were afraid to drive it as it left us stranded on several occasions due to transmission issues, electrical issues and air bag issues. The transmission shredded itself at just over 60000 miles and KIA would not work with us on warranty in spite of the fact that the car was well cared for. After the $3000 transmission repair, the air bag system faulted and cost another $1500 to repair since KIA had to replace the passenger seat due to a bad air bag sensor. Shortly after this, electrical gremlins became a common problem and the car would randomly blow light bulbs and various functions would work or stop working whenever they felt like it. Shortly after multiple problems showed themselves, we sold the POS and bought a much older, much higher mileage Jeep Cherokee since the KIA drained our bank account. The car having problems was annoying but would have been acceptable if KIA honored their warranty and didn't deny quality issues.

2009 Kia Optima


2010 Kia Optima

2015-03-30 12:05:25

This car would be the perfect Sedan if it weren't for its major safety issue concerning failure of the airbags to deploy. I bought my 2010 Optima used about 2 yrs ago and one day out of the blue in late 2014, my airbag light came on. I got my car checked and it turned out that my passenger side airbag was failing to work due to a problem with connecting to the sensor in the clock spring (keep in mind my car has never been in an accident). Now, practically all Kia models had this problem from 2006-2009 (there was a huge recall). Unfortunately, my VIN number was not included in the recall, in which case KIA told me "tough noogies". Considering the repetitive problems KIA has had concerning failure of airbag deployment I would not recommend this car. the Optima has a high rating for safety partly due to its numerous airbags (curtain airbags, side airbags) but the numerous airbags are not good if they do not deploy. I'm buying another car at the end of the year, and prior to this problem I believed it would be a newer Optima. However, after my experience in having to cover costs for a manufacturer defect that means life or death, there is no way I would buy another KIA.

2010 Kia Optima

Amazing

2015-02-11 14:44:44

Amazing

2015 Kia Optima

Quality and FUN to drive

2014-07-30 09:32:49

It has been 1 year since purchase and have not been disappointed since taking the test drive. My Optima is a hybrid which gives me 36 city and 38 highway mpg. Plenty of power to enter the interstate. Great handling and minimum wind noise at all speeds. The drivers seat is comfortable and I can make the 600 mile drive to S.C. and arrive without a back ache. I definitely recommend a test drive. Great car.

2013 Kia Optima

2013 ex with premium package

2013-07-23 21:32:51

just got the car about 3 weeks ago love it beats the sonata that i drove great ride seat are better than the ford fusion,malibu and pasat.wish the steering was alittle better but you have to get used to electric power steering overall the car is a winner in just about every category ex package beautiful hd radio did not get navigation because i wanted a cd player sharp car at a very good price point dark cherry with the tan leather,like the cooled seats during this past heat wave.

2013 Kia Optima

Auto Climate Control

2013-01-13 13:17:30

The only issue I have seen with this car is the auto climate control system. When a car engine is cold, a climate control system should set the fan speed at minimum until the heater core warms up then begin increasing the fan speed to blow warm air into the cabin. The Optima's CC will begin blowing air at the max fan speed with a cold heater core. This causes frigid air to be blown into the cabin until the core warms up. It would seem that a minor programing change could address this problem.

2013 Kia Optima

Review of 2013 Kia Optima

2012-10-12 10:47:43

EX__4dr_Sedan~*******************~~lindenhurst~New York~City~Easy-Going~Daily Commuting~Family~~honda accord~leased the car in august great car except for the passenger side front seat there is no height adjustment seat is to low for my wife 5' 3" height she cannot see over the dashboard. something has to be done so seat can be raised about 2" outside of that car is great.~false

2013 Kia Optima

Review of 2012 Kia Optima

2012-05-03 16:01:14

I bought a Volvo c70 8 years ago b/c I'd always heard that Volvos are durable and last a life time. While I did enjoy the car for about 2 years it started to get little 'quirks' wrong with it. I DO NOT abuse my cars, and with only 28,500 miles I finally had to trade it in. The roof leaked and the dashboard actually fell out! My friend owns a Kia and always raved about it. I first test drove a Honda and then a Kia Optima. My friend was right! The Kia is fabulous! The ride is smooth, the options can't be beat, the interior seating is the most comfortable I've encountered and the price of the car cannot be beat. My Optima has sooo many more options than the Honda Accord had and the price was actually $4500 cheaper. I have the car for 6 months now and whenever I'm driving it I am still amazed at the value and the comfort it offers!

2012 Kia Optima

2012 Kia Optima EX with tech and gps package

2012-04-30 14:53:55

53 years old, 23rd car that I have bought in my lifetime. Best car I have ever bought when you consider options, looks, handling and price. I was going to buy the Acura TL fully loaded was $38,421, I took it for a long test drive and was going to buy it but wanted to wait till my taxes refund was in my hands. In the mean time I am a bodyshop manager and received a 2012 Kia Optima in my shop that had been hit by a tractor trailer on rt 50 in Maryland. The car looks great inside where the driver and 2 pass. were, but the out side was destroyed $22,000 worth of damage, *********** me on the safty of the car, I purchase my Kia fully loaded for $25,995 and have been happy ever since. Cant go wrong folks, real nice car.

2012 Kia Optima

Review of 2012 Kia Optima

2012-03-03 09:48:23

I am delighted with my 2912 Kia Optima EX. It is packed with luxury features without a luxury pricetag. My Kia came complete with glass roof, navigation system, prremium stereo, heated and cooled front seats, heated rear seats, heated steering wheel and power seat and windows. What more can you ask and all for under $28000, the car perfoms well, the base engine is peppy and more than adequate. No turbo needed, Thus far I have drive the vehicle for 4,300 miles and have not had a single problem. I really enjoy driving the car, in fact I drive it far more often than my other car, a 2011 $60,000 Lexus.

2012 Kia Optima

1 / 1

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: