2017 Hyundai Elantra Reviews

4 out of 5

2017 Elantra Sport

2017-06-23 18:53:05

Please note that the 2017 is NOTHING like previous versions of the Elantra Sport/GT whatever. It's built on the new super structure and uses generally updated components from the 2016 Veloster. I've now owned this vehicle for a couple of weeks. My goal was to buy the best car for around $20K for commuting, weekend jaunts for fun, and some driving enjoyment (for two or one person), reasonable gas mileage, and high reliability/low maintenance. I didn’t really care if the car was new or used. Here is my review in five points: 1. Value. Evaluate this car on its own merits, not based on Hyundai positioning and marketing. So rather than looking for a GTI or Civic Si direct competitor, simply start with what's the most car I can get for ~$20K new and go from there. For that price, I purchased a 201HP/195 ft.lb of torque engine in a 3K pound package, leather seating, dual air, dual heated seats, dual front seat height adjustment, sun/moon roof, Infinity-tuned 8 speaker audio system, VERY stiff chassis, "European" tuned suspension, independent suspension all around, 18" European style wheels, blind-spot detection, responsive 8" LCD touch screen with DVD navigation and voice control, Android Auto and Apple Car play. For $20K I could have bought a Honda base model with the crappy engine, a “what the hell small screen is that!” LCD, steel wheels, and cloth interior. Uh, no. 2. Stealth factor. The Elantra Sport is far sportier than the ALL the 2017 Civic's short of the Si and the Type R. Period. Compared directly with the Civic Hatchback Sport, the Hyundai has similar acceleration, way better handling, better engine sounds, and better brakes. Additionally, it has minimal (really close to no outward) racer-boy accouterments. 3. Not your everyday car. It's nice not seeing your car driven by every Tom, Dick and Harry. Think of it as a tailored shirt versus a nice off-the-shelf shirt. Only the person wearing it will know the difference, but the difference is satisfying. TOTALLY meaningless, but satisfying nonetheless. 4. Driving dynamics. The car really DOES drive well. Not the quietest car in the world, but the muted engine noises sounds good. The car accelerates well within reason (not an Si, not a GTI, not a Focus ST/RS, not a WRX). Docile as a lamb on the stop and go (the yin of the too easy to press clutch), but a good sport driving sedan when you fabricate a reason to row through the nicely notchy gearbox (the yang). At WAY above the exit/entrance ramp speed limit, the thing corners nearly flat! 5. Understated, yet modern interior. It’s just modern enough with an 8" touchscreen, AA and Car Play, digital display in the center of the instrument cluster and some great driver aids (backup side-collision warning and blind spot detection). It’s also just spartan/driver oriented enough with separate large analog tachometer and speedometer dials dominating the instrument pod. Granted, there are some real economy car elements, e.g., the hard, pocketless front seat backs; hard rear window sills; hard plastic handbrake grip (easily remedied); but at the end of the day, the driver (me) doesn’t touch or interact with that stuff much. So, where it counts – seat, steering wheel, pedals (metal), and shift knob the Elantra Sport actually has a very nice, almost premium feel about it.

2017 Hyundai Elantra


HYUNDAI ELANTRA ECHO

2016-07-09 04:21:53

The Echo has been averaging 40+ miles per gallon for me, this is a major improvement from what my 2016 Elantra SE averaged. The interior on the new 17 Elantra is best in class, I test drove all the competitors and nothing felt as refined, mature, and lack of a better word serene. The Android Auto and Apple Car play works flawlessly, even Consumer Reports rated Hyundai's infotainment center the best...Well tied with BMW''s infotainment! The Echo has a 7 speed dual clutch which gets better Torque but less HP then the SE, I found it to be even more subtle in shifts in comparison to the SE. I have been a fan of Kia and Hyundai as far back as 2005 when I purchased a sportage. This is my 3rd Elantra, all of them have been purchased under $16000 and were driven without any mechanical issues. I would like to note that both the Sportage and the last two Elantras were sold with over 80,000 miles. Hyundai and kia have been valued similarly to the (Lincoln Town Car) previous public opinion hasn't caught up to the current quality in which Hyundais are made with today. Take advantage of all the Hyundai rebates and incentives and you can find yourself saving $4-7000 off a new car. Hyundai gives the logical car purchaser no other option! Better prices, better warranty, and better options.Uber drivers get a $1000 rebate, college graduates $400, military, $500, hyundai owners $500, and for now if you go to the Hyundai website and look ************ you can open a (Boost) savings account which if you drop $500 into and wait 1 month for the account to mature Hyundai will match your $500 for a down payment. I got all the above incentives minus college grad, stacked on top of the dealers own discounts. total $2500 in incentives, dealers discount was $5000 grand total $7500 off MSRP. Just remember that each dealership offers different discounts so make sure you google all of them within 500 miles to get the best deal. As long as Hyundai continues to make quality cars at very affordable prices I (can't) purchase anything else.

2017 Hyundai Elantra

Great vehicle

2016-05-15 11:55:24

In March, I leased the 2017 Hyundai Elantra. This is my 8th Hyundai in a row. Have owned a 2000 Sonata GLS, 2003 350L, 2006 Sonata Limited, 2007 Azera GLS, 2011 Sonata, 2012 Elantra Limited, 2013 Veloster Turbo, and now the 2017 Elantra Limited. Trying to compare the 2012 Elantra to the 2017, there is no comparison. This is a totally different vehicle. It reminds me a lot of my 2003 XG 350L. If you want a mid size Luxury car with awesome gas mileage, check out the Elantra Limited. I followed the manuals suggestion to keep the revs between 2000 and 4000 for the first 600 miles. That meant I had to drive it in sport mode all the time up to the 600 miles (it was actually fun). I just passes the 600 miles so I now drive in standard mode. On the highway, I average between 39 and 43 MPG and city between 29 and 35 MPG and I do not feel at all like I'm in a cheap high mileage vehicle. The leather seats not only look great, but they are the most comfortable of all my Hyundai's. Truth be told, I feel like I'm driving a smaller Caddy or Lincoln that has a much better warranty. This car is awesome. If you are looking to buy a new vehicle, the 2017 Elantra Limited should be on your short list.

2017 Hyundai Elantra

I love my Hyundai

2016-03-06 09:39:29

I had previously owned a BMW Z3 and bought my Elantra new. It has lived up to it promoted features and more. Would definately by another Hyundai.

2017 Hyundai Elantra

Uber driver

2016-03-05 14:57:23

I like the car a lot, esp w the value pkg w sunroof etc. I like the seats, feel great to me. Handling is very good, low CofG goes around a corner pretty good and absorbs bumps well, interior is almost luxurious, very peppy for a 1.8 but mine is not broken in w 200 miles. There is road noise, could be cheap Hankook tires? This is a business car for me w a 5 yr life at 20k miles per yr. I'll pay for the car 5 times over 5 yrs. Free oil changes every 3800 miles and a full 100k warranty means predictability for me and fixed costs to drive around in a very nice car. Sure a Panamera would be my choice but that's not gonna happen. I wouldn't waste my money on Mercedes et al. Its a comfortable cost effective place for me to spend hours carrying people around for money. I wouldn't even have a sedan if it wasn't for uber.

2016 Hyundai Elantra

2017 Elantra

2016-02-01 14:37:40

I purchased a new Elantra last June and have owned lots of cars in 50 years including HONDA, Toyota, Fiat, GM cars, etc.You Editors are usually biased but stating that people don't get excited about HYUNDAI cars is not true!!! At least in Kansas City you will notice more Elantras due to quality, handling, comfort and service.Before I purchased a HYUNDAI I will never read so called REVIEWS!!! It's talking to owners, mechanics and personal test driving....not around the block!! Everywhere:highways, country roads,inviting friends and family.......

2017 Hyundai Elantra

The Car Hyundai Forgot About

2016-01-10 21:39:53

I would like to give a true opinion on the 2016 Hyundai Elantra Sport. The car is overall a nice car, but Hyundai decided to leave all the bell and whistles out of this model and they have no future plans to make the car any better. The car has plenty of room and decent pickup for a 4 cylinder. It shifts well and doesn't have any noticeable blind spots. If your looking for a basic car, then this might be just right for you.Now for the bad...I want to start by saying that Bluelink is horrible at best. Bluelink only has a couple of features for the Elantra. For example..You can start the car with Bluelink (on rare occasion it actually works) but you cannot turn it off. You cannot see a vehicle status but you can unlock the doors. Other models have this feature, but Hyundai decided this wasn't need for Elantra owners. The next thing I found annoying was you CANNOT start the car with the key fob. Just about every other auto makers has this feature, but Hyundai wants everyone to purchase the Bluelink subscription, so this was left out. I would also like to say that if you keep Bluelink deactivated they will permanently disable Bluelink and it will cost you over $500 to get it turned back on. After talking to Hyundai I discovered that the Elantra will not get Android Auto. Just about every other model will have it available, but us Elantra owners are left hanging. Hyundai decided to only offer Leather in the Limited edition. The cloth seats are made very cheaply and if you sit in the back you will see what I mean about being cheap.I also found the steering to be rather harsh. You get a good workout just trying to keep it on the road. The brakes work well and stops like you would expect froma new car.Hyundai makes good cars, but the Elantra is the red headed step child in the group. I suggest you pass on the Elantra and choose a model or makers that offers options or future upgrades. If you buy a 2016 you will be looking for more and not get it. I have emailed Hyundai's customer service and I get generic answers. I can tell you I will not buy another Elantra unless Hyundai decides to support the 2016 Elantras.

2016 Hyundai Elantra

Hyndais Fans

2015-11-15 13:21:55

Bought my 2013 Elantra LTD new. It has not disappointed me at all. I already knew about the mpg issue but it didn't deter me from test driving and buying it. I average about 32 mpg locally and three long drives (over 900 miles r/t) we averaged over 34 mpg. It's comfortable, quiet (for a compact), smooth and has a lot of extras. So satisfied we purchased a Sonata the following month which has proven to be a good choice as well. Along with a '07 Santa Fe (133,000 miles) that still runs like it did the day it was driven off the lot, we are very happy with the quality, workmanship and especially the service!

2016 Hyundai Elantra

This car really is horrible

2015-10-01 15:30:52

Putting the poor gas millage aside. I have had more issues with this car than any used car I ever bought. This car had 9 miles on it when I bought it. This is a 2011 bought brand new. Just 60'000 miles and wheel hubs went bad and again at 90,000, it has had steering issues, the head lights go out at 110,000 miles first the driver side than the passenger side, the back break lights go out at 130,000 miles and the 3rd break light goes out so much I stopped replacing it. I have replaced it 6 times already the first three times my self then the last few the dealer replaced and didn't charge me for the 6th one, but I don't even replace them anymore, sick of it. The cruse control broke at 120,000 miles, the car shakes in idle, sometimes it even dies, Now I have 136,000 and just took it for an oil change found out the tie rod needs replaced. Now this car has had every single maintenance suggestion done by the dealer so it isn't like the car isn't well taken care of. It is just a horrible car not meant to look cute and not be driven except around town.

2011 Hyundai Elantra

2014 Hyundai Elandra

2015-01-10 01:16:22

The car is totally unsafe I have about 400 miles on it the only time i drove it was to take it for service. the steering is the worst ever. I got it new at thomas in cumberland,MD. they won't do a thing to fix it they say it has the best warranty in america and safety is first. as near as i can see they have no warranty at all and safety is last. I even offer to pay to fix it. they said they couldn't do anything about it. they didnt even try. so if your smart i would go to Hyundai. thomas in cumberland Md. you will sstuck with a car you can't drive.

2014 Hyundai Elantra

1 / 3

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: