2017 Hyundai Elantra Reviews

3 out of 5

2017 Elantra

Feb 01, 2016

I purchased a new Elantra last June and have owned lots of cars in 50 years including HONDA, Toyota, Fiat, GM cars, etc.You Editors are usually biased but stating that people don't get excited about HYUNDAI cars is not true!!! At least in Kansas City you will notice more Elantras due to quality, handling, comfort and service.Before I purchased a HYUNDAI I will never read so called REVIEWS!!! It's talking to owners, mechanics and personal test driving....not around the block!! Everywhere:highways, country roads,inviting friends and family.......

2017 Hyundai Elantra

The Car Hyundai Forgot About

Jan 10, 2016

I would like to give a true opinion on the 2016 Hyundai Elantra Sport. The car is overall a nice car, but Hyundai decided to leave all the bell and whistles out of this model and they have no future plans to make the car any better. The car has plenty of room and decent pickup for a 4 cylinder. It shifts well and doesn't have any noticeable blind spots. If your looking for a basic car, then this might be just right for you.Now for the bad...I want to start by saying that Bluelink is horrible at best. Bluelink only has a couple of features for the Elantra. For example..You can start the car with Bluelink (on rare occasion it actually works) but you cannot turn it off. You cannot see a vehicle status but you can unlock the doors. Other models have this feature, but Hyundai decided this wasn't need for Elantra owners. The next thing I found annoying was you CANNOT start the car with the key fob. Just about every other auto makers has this feature, but Hyundai wants everyone to purchase the Bluelink subscription, so this was left out. I would also like to say that if you keep Bluelink deactivated they will permanently disable Bluelink and it will cost you over $500 to get it turned back on. After talking to Hyundai I discovered that the Elantra will not get Android Auto. Just about every other model will have it available, but us Elantra owners are left hanging. Hyundai decided to only offer Leather in the Limited edition. The cloth seats are made very cheaply and if you sit in the back you will see what I mean about being cheap.I also found the steering to be rather harsh. You get a good workout just trying to keep it on the road. The brakes work well and stops like you would expect froma new car.Hyundai makes good cars, but the Elantra is the red headed step child in the group. I suggest you pass on the Elantra and choose a model or makers that offers options or future upgrades. If you buy a 2016 you will be looking for more and not get it. I have emailed Hyundai's customer service and I get generic answers. I can tell you I will not buy another Elantra unless Hyundai decides to support the 2016 Elantras.

2016 Hyundai Elantra

Hyndais Fans

Nov 15, 2015

Bought my 2013 Elantra LTD new. It has not disappointed me at all. I already knew about the mpg issue but it didn't deter me from test driving and buying it. I average about 32 mpg locally and three long drives (over 900 miles r/t) we averaged over 34 mpg. It's comfortable, quiet (for a compact), smooth and has a lot of extras. So satisfied we purchased a Sonata the following month which has proven to be a good choice as well. Along with a '07 Santa Fe (133,000 miles) that still runs like it did the day it was driven off the lot, we are very happy with the quality, workmanship and especially the service!

2016 Hyundai Elantra

This car really is horrible

Oct 01, 2015

Putting the poor gas millage aside. I have had more issues with this car than any used car I ever bought. This car had 9 miles on it when I bought it. This is a 2011 bought brand new. Just 60'000 miles and wheel hubs went bad and again at 90,000, it has had steering issues, the head lights go out at 110,000 miles first the driver side than the passenger side, the back break lights go out at 130,000 miles and the 3rd break light goes out so much I stopped replacing it. I have replaced it 6 times already the first three times my self then the last few the dealer replaced and didn't charge me for the 6th one, but I don't even replace them anymore, sick of it. The cruse control broke at 120,000 miles, the car shakes in idle, sometimes it even dies, Now I have 136,000 and just took it for an oil change found out the tie rod needs replaced. Now this car has had every single maintenance suggestion done by the dealer so it isn't like the car isn't well taken care of. It is just a horrible car not meant to look cute and not be driven except around town.

2011 Hyundai Elantra

Review of 2013 Hyundai Elantra

Feb 12, 2014

2013 Hyundai Elantra Limited 4dr Sedan

I hate this car

Jan 16, 2014

Can't afford to keep missing work taking it in for the dealership to figure out the excessive noise from the brakes. In just a few month of my NEW car, they've replaced pads, turned rotors and now have resorted to telling me it is normal the car's brakes make these noises. They have a hard time looking me in the eyes with this lie. I hate this car and will never buy a Hyundai ever again.

2013 Hyundai Elantra Limited 4dr Sedan

Nice Design but Disappointed Dishonest Advertising about Fuel Efficiency

Apr 27, 2013

Overall a decent car except the primary reason I purchased the car was fuel efficiency which was significantly misrepresented. When I called Hyundai and the local dealership I got the run around. First Hyundai I've had and probably the last. Trust is important and they lost it.

2012 Hyundai Elantra GLS__4dr_Sedan

MPG

Nov 25, 2012

I purchased my 2013 Elantra in July and have driven it about 4,500 miles. After the first couple of fill ups I noticed that the MPG listed by the onboard system didn't match what I got by taking the trip odometer miles and dividing it by the gallons put in the tank. It was consistently off 1-2 miles each fill up . I recently drove the car on a roughly 1,400 mile trip from NC to FL with about 70% of the miles being interstate highway and using the cruise control. I kept precise records of the miles and fuel purchased. I was very surprised and disappointed to find that the best MPG I got from a tank was 34 and most of them averaged in the 29-31 MPG range...FAR from the 40 MPG advertised by Hyundai that infuenced my buying decision. If you are considering a new Elantra don't be fooled like I was by what they advertise as highway MPG...it's just not there. I noticed they have retracted the 40 MPG and now advertise 38...which you won't get either. I really feel this was dishonest advertising and that I should be seriously compensated on the purchase price or be allowed to return the car. I'M NOT HAPPY ABOUT IT!!!

2013 Hyundai Elantra Limited__4dr_Sedan

What's the whine in the Hyundai Elantra & why don't they care about safety?

Oct 02, 2012

2012 Hyundai Elantra GLS__4dr_Sedan

Love My Elentra

Jun 02, 2012

This car is everything I wanted it to be. It gets great gas mileage, is comfortable (I'm 6'3"), and drives very nicely. I got the base model with M/T and I couldn't be happier. For the price I paid and what I got I think it is the best value on the market.

2012 Hyundai Elantra GLS__4dr_Sedan

1 / 8

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: