2016 Chevrolet Equinox Reviews

4 out of 5

wonderful SUV

Dec 30, 2015

I bought a 2012 Equinox LT at end of 2011 since then I been driving this cute little thing everyday. It is a very wonderful driving machine, easy to maneuver and very light weight, the only thing is the horse power, sometimes when you want accelerate it shows a little slow. But, since I am retired, only doing grocery and shopping trip, this does not bother me at all. Very reliable is another plus, no matter is mechanic or electrical equipment, it does not give me trouble at all. I love this car and highly recommend to anyone who enjoy driving.

2016 Chevrolet Equinox

Ms

Dec 23, 2015

no 3.6, V6 for FWD turned me off to this car

2016 Chevrolet Equinox

2011CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Nov 12, 2015

Worst car we have ever owned- Always some problem and at least 600-900 to fix- Oil consumption recall cracked manifold bad catalytic converter. Dealer is asking me to pay for the manifold and converter repair even though the oil consumption recall caused these issues. Cant seem to get anywhere with anyone at GM and nobody will give me their last name- Stay away from this Chevy unless you like being broke down or just plain broke.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox

Review of 2011 Chevy Eqinox

Nov 02, 2015

Have had this car since 2012 and loved it at first. Then I started noticing a rubbing sound in the power steering about 3 years later. It got worse over time (1 month) and I took it to a local dealer. Before that, I had my husband take a look at the power steering reservoir to see if it need fluid. It was bone dry. My husband asked me if I noticed any leakage of anything. It was obvious that there was no sign on the garage floor or where I parked it for work. He traced the line back and there was no sign of leakage. He then fillled it up, but there was no difference in the rubbing noise and no leakage was noticed. The first appointment, they had two mechanics look at it and both said they did not know what the problem was. The second appointment I was told that we would have to replace the power steering gear and possibly the power steering pump. I questioned the reason the gear at 46,000 miles would have needed replacement at my cost of $1025.00. It would seem to be a bad part on Chevy's part. There was no answer to that. I then questioned why the pump needed replacement to the tune of $450.00, as we could find no leakage to the reservoir and again, it was not clear as to why that also needed replacement. I think after looking online, that I was not the only person to have this problem. No one seemed to be getting a clear answer to this problem. According to GM, they could not give an answer as to why this was happening, but would let the consumer know when they figured it out. Obviously, they still haven't figured it out. After I thought about it, if the reservoir was dry, with no leakage in site, maybe it was never filled in the first place, and no one ever checked it when the oil was changed timely by Chevy. Then the gear would have worn with no fluid going to it. Then I was quoted $450.00 to change the pump. I have never had this kind of problem with any car I have owned. I really feel that as a consumer I am being pushed around as no one seems to know what the problem is, but they are quick to collect your monies. Also I was told this was not a safety issue, they felt. To me anything to do with steering is a safety issure..... This will be the last Chevy I own.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox

former loyal GM buyer

May 24, 2015

We ordered the 2010 equinox nothing to special, chrome package, leather seats, and the boat anchor four cylinder motor. My wife loves the car, it's comfortable, the controls are where they should be, It looks nice, good cargo space, handles and drives good, within a month the motor sounds like a diesel but no problems are found, after continuous complaining a "technition" said an notice was put out on this problem and the cam balancers were replaced, seemed to fix it for a while, then the sound returned, the compass quit working no problem was found but not repaired until 36.5k miles just out of warranty the computer dies, GM was nice enough to meet us half-way on the repair and the compass worked again. The engine continues to sound like a diesel, and my wife continues to complain to the shop, they say the oil is dirty and low , "this is a vehicle they've serviced from day one on every scheduled service required by the manufacturer and all oil changes done by them at 3k miles", so they pull the motor replace pistons and rings and the cam balancers again, apparently the cylinder walls were not damaged or crank-shaft main bearings worn or any other part contaminated by the failure of the worn pistons and rings, amazing. The bottoms of the doors are rusting at 50k miles, car was washed once a weak since new, the best thing was the tires wore evenly and lasted for 80k miles, GO Michalin. This would have been a awesome vehicle if it had the bulletproof 2004 3800 motor in it, but then there would have been no money to be made in repairs. This was a short version of mechanical failures, i'm done with GM a company I've been loyal to for 30 years, I'm buying American, I'm buying a Toyota.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ Front-wheel Drive Sport Utility

Traded 2009 Chevy Malibu for 2011 Chevy Equinox

Apr 18, 2015

So far so good. I really like the interior. This is the upgraded LTZ model, with all the bells and whistles. It gets about the same fuel economy as my malibu (23-25mpg on mixed driving) I have the 2.4L 4 cylinder. Acceleration is a bit sluggish. ECO mode is nice on gas but makes accelerating a never ending process. Overall, I really like it...but ask me again in a year.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ Front-wheel Drive Sport Utility

Great Vehicle...

Nov 02, 2014

I have had my Equinox, LTZ since June of 2013. It's a great vehicle. Handels well, especially on mountain roads. Good gas milage. Lot's of interior room. Excellent options on the LTZ model. I'm very happy with the vehicle. It's 1 of the models Chevrolet hasn't recalled. You won't go wrong on your Equinox purchase. .

2015 Chevrolet Equinox

2013 V6, 2LT w/Leather and nav.

Apr 21, 2013

This car is very peppy for a suv, city driving averages 22 to 25MPG, steady driving @65mph averages 35mpg, and 29mpg @75mpg with cruse control. A 600 mile round trip averaged 28mpg of mixed driving situations including one stop for fuel. The interior is very quiet and isolated from road noise. The engine and drivetrain is very smooth and quiet until you floor it. At full throttle the engine emits a powerful growl until throttle lift. Full throttle from stand still is very squirelly due to torque steer which is common on most front wheel, drive cars.

2013 Chevrolet Equinox 2LT__Front_wheel_Drive_Sport_Utility

Rent 1 b4 U buy 1

Jul 02, 2012

Rent one B4 you by one! Poor fit/finish of interior dash and front door panels. Primer showing thru paint. Trans upshifts/downshifts at an annoying rate! Tradn' for a Benz!

2012 Chevrolet Equinox 1LT__Front_wheel_Drive_Sport_Utility

2nd equinox in 2 years

Jan 10, 2012

i had a 2010 drove it 110,000 in 24 months when i traded it in on my 2012 it still had original brakes and tires so it was a no brainer to get a 2012. they improved a lot better injectors ,radio,mirrors,onstar,it performs better too this is the 1st time i have bought the same car twice and the 2010 was the 1st chevy i spend a lot of hours a day in my car all kinds of weather this car is great in the snow too if your thinking about one get it trouble free

2012 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ__All_wheel_Drive_Sport_Utility

1 / 9

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: