4.6 4dr Rear-wheel Drive Sedan
2009 Hyundai Genesis Reviews

4 out of 5

Genesis, Better Than Audi or BMW?

Mar 24, 2011

I have owned and driven both the Audi A6 and the BMW 528. I have logged over 100,000 miles on each. I purchased a slightly used 2009 Genesis with 17,000 on the odometer last fall. I driven about 10,000 miles and can say without any hesitation that the ride, economy and feel of this car is vastly superior to either of the German "luxury" cars I owned previously. I feared that rear wheel drive might be a problem after driving a quattro but even in a snow enviornment it has not proven to be a problem. Great stuff at a better price and hopefully far fewer expensive repairs down the road.

2009 Hyundai Genesis 3.8__4dr_Rear_wheel_Drive_Sedan


Aug 26, 2010

I bought a 2009 Genesis V8 in December 2009 which was a Sales Managers car with 8,000 miles on it. I assumed that since it was the managers car it would have had excellent service, and they assured me that this was the case. However after having the car for a few days, I decided to check the oil. It was extremely dirty and was down 2 qts. With only 8,000 miles on the car I was naturally concerned. Where did the oil go? Why wasn't it ever changed?? - When I took the car back the dealership made light of the situation and offered to service the car for free, which they did. I think that Hyundai has a problem with who is selling their cars, not the cars themselves. The car is using a qt of oil about every 2000 miles. It drives great but this is a concern. I bought a Lexus LS 400 from Penske when they first came out, then a Lexus GS 400 from Vista when they first came out. With over 100,000 miles on both of them they never used any oil. Is this going to be a problem with my Hyundai in the future???

2009 Hyundai Genesis 4.64dr Rear-wheel Drive Sedan

Review of 2009 Hyundai Genesis

Dec 15, 2009

What a fine automobile! A lot of car, for not a lot of money. This car feels like cars costing 20,000. more. What a pleasure to drive, it's a KEEPER!

2009 Hyundai Genesis 3.84dr Rear-wheel Drive Sedan

2009 Genesis 6cyl sedan

Jul 24, 2009

Completely satisfied with this automobile. A joy to drive. Just completed a 4000 mile trip with it and it was responsive, quiet, and very comfortable. Gas milage 27-28 mpg at 65 and 75 mph with middle grade gas. Many people stopped us at gas stations and resturants wanting to know "What kind of car is that?", and told us how beautiful it was. I just gave up a 2007 Infiniti M35, and prior to that 3 LS Lexus' and do not miss any of them. The Genesis measures up to the best of them. Great value for the money. Mine is fully loaded, including the European prestige package, Genesis badges, and the 17 speaker sound system. Approximately $39,000

2009 Hyundai Genesis 3.84dr Rear-wheel Drive Sedan

I love my 2009 Hyundai!

Apr 26, 2009

When I was in high school many years ago, I used to drive a Hyundai Excel. At that time, Hyundai's reputation was shady. However, my Excel was a special edition so it lasted for many years after others died out. Since then I have driven a Honda and a Nissan (both great cars that are still running). However, I had always had my heart set on a small BMW, Lexus, or Mercedes. Now that I am a young 30-something mother, I knew that a small anything would not work for my needs and the "luxury" mid-size brands were far out of my budget. In early 2008, I saw an AOL ad that really got my attention! From then on I kept the Genesis on my list of options. After a lot of research, I decided to purchase the Genesis for its size, style, and overal cost. I have the Premium Plus Package and paid less than $36,000 with taxes and tags out the door for it. I love having the XM radio for traveling. I do not know how it will size up in the long run as far as service and upkeep, but I do love driving it and from past experience I have confidence that Hyundai will only work to make it better.

2009 Hyundai Genesis 3.84dr Rear-wheel Drive Sedan

Whoa, much more than expected

Apr 21, 2009

I have driven BMWs for more than 10 years as personal cars and have driving experience with MB and Lexus. I got curious about the Genesis in 2008 as word began to hit the market of their attempt to build a luxury brand. Finally got out and began looking at the vehicle in late 2008. After much comparison, several test drives (including the Genesis Coupe)we purchased a 4.6L Genesis, fully loaded with anything that was available. I have been extremely pleased with every aspect of the vehicle; ride, appointments, fit, attention to detail. I drive vehicles hard, having owned the epitome of drivers cars for the past 10 years (3 Series BMWs)I know that I push the vehicles. This does not handle like a BMW, in no way should this be confused as a sports sedan. On the other hand, acceleration is exhilerating, it holds the road better than expected. Where I have been totally floored is the gas mileage. 80% of my mileage is highway, but I am averaging, repeat - averaging over 27 miles to the gallon on 87 octane. Considering my 330xi is giving me around 25 MPG and my X5 was giving me around 19 MPG on 91 Octane....I see this as a major plus and totally unexpected. I was hoping for around 22 MPG. I TRULY believe that ads are right....the Germans and Japanese had better be yelling, "Hyundai!!! Hyundai!!???" and looking over their shoulders. By the way, the Genesis Coupe blew me away and on taking it on a test drive almost immediately took it back to the dealership. As I told my wife, had I continued to drive it...I wasn't going to be practical and replace the X5 with the Genesis Sedan, but rather the coupe. Damn, it was sweet!!!

2009 Hyundai Genesis 4.64dr Rear-wheel Drive Sedan

GREAT Car!!!

Apr 06, 2009

Absolutely top value! This car succeeds our BMW 2002, BMW 535i, a couple of Chrysler sedans, Oldsmobile sedan, a Corvette, and two full-size vans. No comparison - the Genesis has great acceleration and handling, plenty of room for four adults, loads of luggage space, a plethora of creature comforts (the tilt-out map pockets in the front doors, for example) and spot-on navigation. Superb audio. Cooled driver's seat - that is the absolute MAX here in Arizona. This, combined with Korea's work ethic, attention to detail, price point in the market - what a winner!

2009 Hyundai Genesis 3.84dr Rear-wheel Drive Sedan


Mar 24, 2009

I purchased my 2009 GENESIS on March 11th, 2009,what luxury! I owned a HYUNDAI XG350L, loved that too! I owned three LINCOLNS before switching to HYUNDAI! I did not need a new car, but was waiting for this car to come out! I was going to buy a BUICK or LINCOLN again, but this car is far SUPERIOR to them! I know I am an AMERICAN, and should buy US products, but HYUNDAI is so much better, BEST and only WARRANTY for 10 year/100,000 miles!

2009 Hyundai Genesis 3.84dr Rear-wheel Drive Sedan

Extremely surprised!!

Feb 27, 2009

Decided to car shop now instead of 2010 which was my plan. Swore I would never touch a Hyundai. Went looking -- Volvo, Audi, BMW, Infinity. Previously a huge Mercedes, Audi, Volvo owner/fan. Never impressed by Lexus. Finally convinced to look at the Genesis. Three test drives later I brought home the V6 with tech package. Absolutely love it. Best car decision I've made in a while.

2009 Hyundai Genesis

Its Greast BUT

Feb 18, 2009

I've had my 2009 Genesis (4.6L)for about two months. It does have many great feature for the price but I do not believe it compares to the Lexus I drove for over six years. I took it in for some service and received the following answers: The excessive road noise was blamed on the tires they chose to put on the car. The altimeter is only accurate to 200 feet most of the time - occasionally 100 feet. I was told the other new Genesis they checked it against behaved the same way so they could not fix it. The speedometer shows 3 MPH faster than the current speed indicated by the navigation screen (at 65MPH). They blamed that on the satellites. They could do nothing about the outside exhaust I smell when the system is on recycle. Even though I was told the car did this when I took it for a test drive, they thought I was crazy to think that the car would automatically sense outside exhaust and switch over to recycle. Yes, for the price, it is a great car but it is no Lexus by any stretch of the imagination.

2009 Hyundai Genesis

1 / 2

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: