SR5 5.7L V8 4dr 4x2 Double Cab Long Bed
2008 Toyota Tundra Reviews

3 out of 5

Review of 2008 Toyota Tundra

Jan 31, 2010

i leased my tundra for 279 a month. was a fair price. 3 year lease which ends in a few months. not sure if im going to keep it or not. still need to get some of the recalls fixed. neither of the recalls have effected my tundra yet. there has never been one problem with my tundra. it does make a grinding noise in 4wd drive when i make a tight turn. i dunno what that is. the paint on it is a little thin. had a load tarped in the bed and the plastic "s" hooks ate threw to the primer. was looking at getting a 2010 ford but i see people saying they were garbaged and there tundra was better. great truck so far. i even thru a aftermarket exhuast on it. sounds means and gets movin. fuel milage sucks but then again its not a toyota sentra.

2008 Toyota Tundra SR5 4.7L V84dr 4x4 Double Cab Long Bed

Review of 2008 Toyota Tundra

Nov 04, 2009

I must say i have made the best choice by purchasing this vehicle. it exeeded my expectations by far. the payload is like 2,000 pounds. i recently loaded 3,200 pounds in the bed and it road like a charm. i use the vehicle to go upstate ny for hunting and it takes the mountains like they werent even there. I had previously owned a ford. you cannot compare anything to the tundra in its class period.the ride is out of this world the back seats recline and you even have additional space.the turning on the vehicle cannot be beat. i have heard about the new dodge that has recently come out. i give it 2 years and it will probably start the rattling and falling apart. i feel the tundra will last me for many years to come. for anyone looking to purchase a pick up do your homework and i can almost guarantee that you will come back to purchasing a tundra. If i were to buy another truck it would be no other than a toyota tundra. in a class all by itself. .Bottom line is i beat the S____t out of it and it wants more.

2008 Toyota Tundra SR5 5.7L V84dr 4x4 Crew Max

Great Truck.

Jun 13, 2009

My wife an I purchased a 2003 F250 Lariett/6.0 powerstroke in July of 03. 50k and yes, it was a beautiful looking truck. 20k miles head gasket went and did internal damage and had to have the engine replaced under warranty. Truck was at the dealer for almost a month. (and yes. I still had to make my $700 payment that month). 26k miles, turbo went... Again 3 weeks in the dealer.... 32k head gaskets fail again..AND at 45k upper and lower ball joints.. 2008 my 5 year warranty was over on the truck. I had no choice but to trade it in. I could not afFORD to keep fixing it. After many letters to Ford to see if they could do anything for me on a trade in for a new Ford truck they offered me 9k on a trade for a new Ford. I was shocked! A week before my warranty was up I drove into Toyota and ordered my New Tundra/crew/8' bed/5.7...... They also gave me 13.5k for a trade. I pull the same trailers as I did with my Ford with the Tundra ranging in weight from 5-9k lbs. I will say the Ford had more pulling power but the Tundra pulls them with no problems. AND I have not been back to the dealer except for the free 2 year oil changes. After driving The Tundra for almost a year it is Hands down THE BEST truck I have ever owned..

2008 Toyota Tundra Base 5.7L V84dr 4x4 Double Cab Long Bed

Best truck on the road by far

Apr 26, 2009

My 2008 Tundra is a wonderful truck! I pull a 4 horse bumper pull trailer with ease. Towing capacity is 10,400 lbs. (truck is way over built) The ride is a bit rough so I placed two bags of cement at the back of the bed. Much better! Fit and finish is excellant. No rattles or problems. Ford needs to take notes on how to build a good seat from Toyota. Can't say enough good about the truck and I expect 300k out of it. Gas milage is good for a engine with over 380hp!

2008 Toyota Tundra SR5 5.7L V84dr 4x4 Crew Max

Review of 2008 Toyota Tundra

Apr 22, 2009

I had a 2002 dodge ram 1500 qaud cab before this truck. After 2 new rear gears(in2years)and new right front after(75000miles)i had all i could take. I bought the tundra because it looked good and was bigger inside than the dodge was. After a little over one year i have had nothing go wrong with the truck. The only thing i would say to inprove the truck would make the bed 6.5ft. over the 5.5ft. The k&n airfilter helps gas milage &changeing to the flowmaster mufflers helpsmore and really wakes the 5.7 up. The inside is very comfortable &the storage is great. The ride even with the off road package is unbeleaveable,i can be the truck all day ¬ be tired. I really have got anythig bad to sayabout the tundra, if have not driven one &are in the market to buy a new truck dont go drive one but if you are then please do so &conpare to your chevy,ford &dodge.

2008 Toyota Tundra SR5 5.7L V84dr 4x4 Crew Max

to all ya spammers that ain't drove a tundra

Feb 21, 2009

Reading some of these reviews can only make a real tundra owner laugh. Had the truck for a year and this is a great truck that will last for many many years of trouble free driving. I'm not putting it in the class with my wifes (4runner w/260,000 trouble free miles) suv, but one day it could get their. I get 17mpg(mixed hgwy,city)what you expect from a huge truck and yea a lexus like ride. Even edmunds can't get it right. It drives just fine on regular gas, but if you do stomp the gas pedal it'l outrun or keep up with many sports cars that can only run on premium. No toyota doesn't recomend premium fuel. Tough reliable truck with a 21st century powertrain

2008 Toyota Tundra Limited 5.7L V84dr 4x2 Double Cab

This is one fine truck

Feb 21, 2009

Having owned 3 Ford ranger and 3 F150's I can tell you this is one fine truck. I never the gas mileage out of any Ford that I'm getting with this Tundra. The best I ever did with a Ford was 17 MPG. This 5.7 Litre Toyota is averaging 18.5 MPG at this time, as long as I keep my foot out of it, and it tows my 20 foot toyhauler with ease. My Ford 5.4 litre Ford moaned when trying to pull the toyhauler and dropped the fuel mileage to 7.8 MPG. The Ford did have a smoother ride but it was unable to do the job i wanted it to do. As far as Dodge goes, I find no wonder why their sales are down. Twice in my life I've tried to buy a Dodge and the dealerships act like they don't need your business, and basically blow you off.

2008 Toyota Tundra SR5 5.7L V84dr 4x2 Crew Max

Outstanding Value

Feb 08, 2009

Purchased my Tundra about 4 months ago and absolutely Love it ! The Interior of the truck sold me, after having test drove a Chevy Silverado earlier in the day and seeing how generic its interior was- I was most pleasantly surprised with the Tundra's awesome interior. My truck has the beige cloth seats, with a rear power window. This truck is very comfortable on long drives with plenty of leg and head room for the driver and all passengers. Have not had an problems with the 4.7 V8. I have used this truck on long trips, as well as to haul junk to the local dump. I am sold on the quality of Toyota. This truck is tough, and looks great. Overall I would recommend this truck to anyone that enjoys a good looking, comfortable truck that is good to haul light to medium loads from time to time.

2008 Toyota Tundra Base 4.7L V84dr 4x2 Crew Max

Winner Hands Down

Feb 01, 2009

Great truck, would buy again.

2008 Toyota Tundra SR5 5.7L V84dr 4x2 Double Cab

Stay Away

Jan 29, 2009

Awkward, uncomfortable - seats are like concrete with a brick for lumbar support, and way too narrow. Traction control is erratic. Truck is very fast w/5.7 but sucks as much gas than my last ¾ ton. Doesn’t feel like a real truck. No comment on durability, have less than 2,000 mi and can’t stand it already. Buy a domestic at big discount

2008 Toyota Tundra SR5 5.7L V84dr 4x4 Double Cab

1 / 3

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: