2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser Reviews

4 out of 5

Toyota FJ - Great vehicle.

2010-03-15 19:14:24

I purchased a used, certified and well kept up 2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser at a Toyota dealership w/53,000 miles. I now have 68,000 miles, and it has performed beautifully under all conditions...from 108 degrees above to 8 degrees below. I have a small sportscar also, but the FJ performs beautifully in the Portland rainy weather, so I have been driving it more than I originally intended. I am also an avid hiker, skier and explorer, and the FJ gets me to any trailhead or mountain regardless of the weather. I far prefer it to any Jeep I test drove, plus the reliability is unquestioned. The ride, with the new M/S Michelins is smooth and controlled. Mileage is about 17-18 MPG, but I knew that going in. This vehicle does what is promises it will do. It is not like my sportier vehicle, nor a luxury vehicle...but it performs very well under all conditions. The A/C and the heat work great, and once I bought the "fish-eye" side mirrors, I do fine backing up with no problem...just a little slower than other vehicles. The sonar back up system works great...plus, I hear the newer FJ's have back up cameras now, if you have that concern. It is very highly rated for safety, and I really enjoy driving it. I detailed it when I bought it (Wilsonville, OR. Toyota was a nightmare), and I added PIAA high Intensity front and rear lights, better tires, and numerous little add-ons that make it look and perform better for the purpose that I intended...to get me up and back from hiking, snowshoeng and exploring. I bought the Voodoo blue, and you gotta love it or hate it, and I love it. I don't consider it a good looking vehicle, but a cool looking one, and besides, I didn't buy it for looks, I bought for the "safety-utilitarian-reliability-get me to where the fun is" aspect it provides. This is a great vehicle, and I expect a very good resale value when I do eventually sell it. Drive it side by side your other choices...it impressed me so much more than any worthy competitor out there.

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser


FJ Cruiser

2010-02-17 08:28:38

SUV rides nice. the problem is the limited view. this is a serious problem. I bought the fj because I thought it was solid and safe. You really need to be alert of vehicles and pedistrians. I've alerted Toyota with this problem. Also a gas eater. Ride is smooth, handles the road nicely.

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Not too bad

2009-07-30 17:45:15

My GF bought one of these and it's been pretty nice. The ride is good, (but the seats are too hard on long trips), the interior has lots of room but feels cramped because the lack of visibility makes it feel like you're in a cave. I had one of the original FJ40s which didn't have this problem so Toyota lost something in the modernization. Also, both of us have banged our knees multiple times getting in - there is a section of dash that sticks out into the entry and gets your knees just about every time even if you know it's there. Offroad is great and it turns on a dime, but the lack of visibility to the outside world makes it a very nervous commuter. If I was going seriously offroad I'd probably take my Nisan pickup just because of the visibility issues. Mileage has been okay, pretty much a constant 18mpg no matter what you do to it. It does take premium gas which is something the salesman lied to us about. The radio is pretty good, and the "aux" input is great, but it could use a few more power (12v) outlets. All and all it's a nice truck and we're pretty happy with it. But... did I mention the outside visibility is really bad?

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Review of 2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

2009-04-29 00:02:30

I tested out many vehicles before I bought this one. I found that the Fj was quieter, better built ( no plastic rattle) Spacious and build solid. It will turn on a dime, Nissan can't compare! No problems with unit. Love this car!

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

2008 FJ Cruiser

2009-03-07 07:59:32

Ok, first off the MSRP is for a stripped down 4 cyclinder. Expect to pay around $28,000 for a 6 cyclinder with option packages. This vehicle was designed for off road use before road use. Everything about it is heavy duty. Personally I like the retro styling of the FJ. The ride is comfortable and the performance is great. I wouldent trade this vehicle for the world. I love it. I traded a 2004 VW Beetle for this SUV. My insurance is $108 a year cheaper then the VW was. Aprox $1,000 a year. That alone tells you what a safe vehicle the FJ Cruiser is. Reality gas milage is 17 to 20 with the 6 cylinder engine and 6 speed manual transmission.

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

The BEST !!

2008-12-13 10:37:16

Have had my 2008 FJ All White OFf road beast for 1 year now......Absolutely the best 4x4 vehicle I have owned! Had a TJ and GM Jimmy before...no comparison. Mileage could be a little better, but other than that no complaints! Also the FJ's are completely made in Japan, which gives an incredible quality difference too!

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

The FJ CRUISER Rocks

2008-11-19 21:10:24

The FJ Cruiser is without a doubt, the most capable, factory ready 4X4 I have ever had. I have put 2000 miles on mine and could not be happier. (250 off road)

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2008-08-30 10:38:12

I have the limited FJ (only 400 being made) all white, off road, fully loaded, 4 wheel drive, it handles great, the inside- what can I say- fabulous!!! I will drive it for the rest of my life :) it's a Toyota after all- it should last longer than that!!!

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

Lot of Fun

2008-08-13 21:13:29

This SUV is a scream to drive. It handels great! It has a very smooth ride and corners exceptionally well.

2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser

This car does not deliver

2008-06-04 01:15:02

For a car with such a small body an powerless engine this thing gets terrible gas mileage. You might want to stick with a hybrid

2008 Toyota Fj cruiser

1 / 2

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: