2008 Honda Civic Hybrid Reviews

4 out of 5

This hybrid no good in South Florida

2012-05-14 15:01:37

Back in 08 when gas started its climb to $4/gal, I had a Honda Ridgeline on lease. Poor fuel economy and unforeseen miles use, made me dump the lease and buy the Civic Hybrid in March of 08. EPA was 40-45mpg. Upon purchase it got 38 on its first tank, thanks to the mild weather mostly city driving. I drove like grandma, and babied it to try to reach 40, my best was 39. On long trips, driving under 65mph got me 38mpg. Then the summer came in May with temps over 85F every day till November. My average for the 6 month summer was 34. CVT tranny makes it run like a go-cart or moped with no gear change. I have to get the engine to 4000RPM to merge in traffic on the highway, sounds like its winding out. Then the hybrid battery started to degrade. I ignored the request from Honda to bring the car in to "flash" the computer and just waited for the battery to degrade and it got replaced before the 80000mile deadline just 2 months ago. I must say this car is very reliable, it now has 76000 with minimal maintenance and no breakdowns. Just not worth the extra $5000 for the hybrid model.

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid


2008 Civic Hybrid is Phenomenal

2009-04-22 22:05:32

I have owned Hondas and Toyotas. Hondas consistently provide superior, more stable, safer handling, over various driving conditions. This was my primary reason for choosing the Civic Hybrid over the Prius. I drive a combination of city and highway. The government rates the Civic Hybrid at 40 mpg city and 45 mpg highway. I don't get 40 mpg in the city. I get 36 mpg in the city. But compared to nearly all other cars, 36 real world mpg in city driving is pretty phenomenal. On the highway I average a little more than 45 mpg. Overall, I average right at 41 mpg. That's real world overall average of 41 mpg. Again, that's pretty phenomenal compared to just about any other car. The Civic is not huge, but not tiny. Interior is spacious and very comfortable. All of my Hondas have been very reliable. Yes, something minor may need service occasionally, but I have never had a Honda just flat out break down, or not run adequately. My 2008 Civic Hybrid is a GREAT car.

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

42 overall average mpg real world

2009-02-25 16:02:39

Real world overall average mpg exceeding my expectations. Excellent handling. Excellent driveability. I like a small car, but I want it to have superior handling and control. I have owned Accords in the past. The Civic Hybrid delivers the superior handling and control that I want. The Civic Hybrid is also responsive and has good pickup. It is not a high-performance sports car, but it is more than sufficient to meet all the demands of driving in all city traffic conditions.

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

New to the Hybrid

2008-09-03 22:41:13

I purchased a slightly used 2008 HCH currently has about 7500 miles now had under 4800 miles when I purchased it. Been very pleased with MPG, still learning how to maximize the fuel mileage. Doing between 47 to 53 MPG, but goal is 60+. Not sure what is wrong with the guy getting only 30 MPG, since if I drag raced I could still get higher than that. Important part is to manage the battery by giving the car times to regenerate power while coasting and stopping. Battery gets low more fuel used and less help on accerating. Also tint the windows to legal levels to reduce AC demand and set AC on like 75 or higher. Also keep in mind windshield Defrost runs AC too. All battery loads will affect fuel mileage. Have few complaints that the doors feel cheap, and very low to the ground. Getting what seems like bearing noise from back of the car. Seats sure could be more comfortable, wish I had gotten one with Leather seats in stead of cloth. Rated lower on Quality due to some of the road noise and ride is harse, but hoping it will be durable. I have a 3 to 5 year plan then sell, and hope ne designs are out by then. As far as comfort get a lumbar pillow you low back will thank you. Love getting 550 to 600 miles on a tank of gas.

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

2008 civic hybrid

2008-08-21 15:32:58

this is a great car i get believe it or not on average 58mpg true i drive like a little old lady and never over 60 on the hiway if you slow down you get the miles no bs frank roche raynham ma

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

Review of 2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

2008-08-13 21:30:58

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

MPG???

2008-07-14 12:42:09

We bought a Civic Hybrid in May and it is getting no place near the gas millage we were told it would get. On a good day we might get 30 MPG, does anyone have any suggestions?

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid Review

2008-07-10 14:29:16

We had previously owned 2 Hondas and decided to get rid of our Saturn Vue. We purchased a 2008 Civic Hybrid. The car has lived up to everything Honda said it would. We are averaging 42.2 mpg. The car is comfortable, handles well, has adequate power and aceleration. With the hybrid being built in Japan, the fit and finish is outstanding. You cant go wrong purchasing this vehicle.

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

2008 HCH Is Great!

2008-07-02 11:07:08

Purchased new Civic Hybrid about six weeks ago. With 300 miles/week commutes and several out-of-town trips to visit family, have accumulated some 4,000 miles already. Daily commute is 30 miles one-way, with 20 of that being Interstate. Am getting roughly 43 MPG at 70 MPH, 47 MPG at 65 MPH, and 52 MPG at 60 MPH. Have yet to see a tank's MPG fall under 40 MPG, despite all types of driving and weather (haven't seen winter yet -- that may be different).Only complaint is the position of the headrests as apparently being mandated by the safety gurus. It's uncomfortable unless you recline the seat a bit.Overall, am extremely pleased with the purchase thus far!

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

WOW!!!!

2008-06-05 03:16:04

Just traded in my suv..couldn't take $4 gas....First fillup got 39 mpg... super car.

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

1 / 2

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: