2008 Ford Ranger Reviews

3 out of 5

karmikeauto nailed it!

Aug 24, 2008

Go back and read it Ford Motor Company (FMC) - he's spot on!. Also--2008 Ranger XLT auto/3.0 six cyl 2-door extended cab: One more...inadeqaute lower back support. I dropped an "inside the bed" plastic bedliner into mine - without the extensions over the top/sides. However, if you lean over the side of the bed, it can EASILY dent the top metal, so I wish I had the other style of liner with the extensions up-and-over. As to the bed tie-downs, I added a short (5") chain extention on each of the tie-downs, which drape out over the liner so there is no paint chipping; works great! Also, even though I do not plan to carry more than the rated payload (including my own 6'3" 250 lbs - and I am also 56 yrs young), I put a pair of Monroe shocks that incorporate an external coil spring around the shock for added support. Raised it less than 2", but really helps it stay more level with a heavy load (400cc / 600 lb ATV). As to MPG, I get the FMC hwy rating of 20 MPG when I drive 65 MPH. If looking for more power, consider the big 4.0 six (almost same mpg as small 3.0 six cylinder). This is my 4th Ford truck (1988 F150, 1997 F150, 2000 F250 crew-cab diesel that I still have, and now this one).

2008 Ford Ranger XLT 2dr 4x2 Super Cab Styleside 6 ft. box 125.7 in. WB


TcvNDqBVlPUvuiqQdDZ

May 27, 2008

2008 Ford Ranger FX4 Off-Road 2dr 4x4 Super Cab Styleside 6 ft. box 125.7 in. WB

Review of 2008 Ford Ranger

Nov 30, 2007

2008 Ford Ranger XLT

2007 FORD RANGER XLT......THE TRUTH!

Oct 05, 2007

First, I love this little truck so far, but cars are my livelyhood and I take them seriously and this one has some rather stupid mistakes built into it. It rides good and is fun to drive, and is finished off well if what you want is an oversized car...but for truck owners, well....read below. This is the four cylinder, five speed automatic combination extended cab (without back access doors).

Now the downers: Ford Engineers who NEVER OWNED A TRUCK DESIGNED THIS VEHICLE!!!! No third brake WITH BED LIGHT...this is a little big deal for a truck owner (HINT: I bought a 2003 third brake light from Ford and installed myself). Second, although this is an extended cab, NOTHING CAN BE PUT BEHIND THE DRIVER SEAT WITHOUT LIFTING IT OVER THE SEATS BECAUSE THE FRONT SEATS DON'T FOLD FAR ENOUGH TO ALLOW ACCESS....grocery bags, children, nothing fits through the small crack between the back of the seat and the door jamb. If you want to use the back for storage, you better order the extended cab with the half doors- seriously!! Third, NO locking taligate! Fourth, I don't think Ford Motor EVER built a vehicle that gets the mileage they claim. This one, with 4 cyl and 5 speed auto,with synthetic oil, gets 23/24 highway and 17/18 in town....I'm 56 and bought the 4 for gas mileage, so obviously I drive it easy. My old S-10 4 cyl got 33- go figure. Good power, and will pull a small trailer OK, but with the 5 speed it is always shifting, and on the interstate this is a small problem. Those good looking chrome 6 spoke standard wheels have plastic chrome inserts- look carefully. Would daytime running lights cost anything???- they are not on the Ford? Tie down hooks in the bed are recessed making access difficult. Overall, I wouldn't buy another one- Ford Motor really needs to have TRUCK PEOPLE design their trucks and much of this could have been eliminated! One observation from working on them though is that all the rangers are built well and give long- very long service

2008 Ford Ranger 2dr 4x2 Super Cab Styleside 6 ft. box 125.7 in. WB Sport

2007 Ranger STX

Sep 15, 2007

I replaced my 1996 Ranger XLT with 2007 STX. Small V6, Std. Transmission, no air, limited slip, tilt, cruse control and tinted glass. Price difference in 11 years, less than $1000.00

Love the truck! Gets 24 mpg!

2008 Ford Ranger 2dr 4x2 Regular Cab Styleside 6 ft. box 111.6 in. WB Sport

Review of 2008 Ford Ranger

Sep 15, 2007

I just got rid of my 95 ranger,195,000 miles and most of it is still orginal parts,I just bought a new one, I'm glad no major changes have been made over the years. why change things that arn't broken?

2008 Ford Ranger

Review of 2008 Ford Ranger

Aug 31, 2007

If it's Ford it can't be much

2008 Ford Ranger

D'oh

Aug 16, 2007

This is the all new Ford Ranger? It could be a 1970's model. Where's the style? Where's the inovation? I've been driving Ford products since the early 80's but I must say I'm getting ready to try something else. Imagination doesn't cost anything. Try it or keep losing market share!

2008 Ford Ranger

Review of 2008 Ford Ranger

Aug 16, 2007

2008 Ford Ranger

Review of 2008 Ford Ranger

Aug 16, 2007

2008 Ford Ranger

1 / 2

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: