LS 4dr Hatchback
2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5 Reviews

4 out of 5

2008 aveo 5

2009-03-04 05:43:06

This is the first NEW vehicle we have bought in 20yrs.This aveo is by far and outstanding vehicle.It is fun to drive,100% dependable and extremly gas honorable letting us get as high as 35,pg on highway and 29 to 30 mpg in town.We have had no breakdowns since we bought a year ago.Had weatherstripping problem when it was bought but Chev Tecks fixed that and vehile has been used in wide ranges, such as very cold and frozen weather,Deeep snow ,Mountain driving,and spring driving along with summer and fall driving with no adverse effects to the ocupants.no real need for a/c as vehicle provided enough cool air with all windows rolled down.

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5


work car

2008-11-23 09:43:45

i bought this for transportation to and from work. i'm an electrician and needed room for tools. folding down back seat makes more than enough room for basic tooling. the basic5 met all my needs. good pick up, cruising speed, gas mileage, and roomy. i drove to louisville, ky. after purchase frome chicago on a tank of gas. got a little bit of teasing from 'the guys' but all in all worth every penny. beets the 9 miles to the gallon my k3500 gets. now my truck sits more and more. can't beat the price. kudos!

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

2009 Aveo outstanding vehicle for new and old drivers

2008-10-20 09:30:38

Originally we bought the AVEO for our 16 year old daughter, however, we now use the car for all daily errands, as well as commuting and long distance travel. The car gets great pickup for such a small engine. It handles high way driving like a pro, and we have averaged 40 miles per gallon. In city driving is also fantastic, this car can stop on a dime and we have been getting between 30 and 34 miles per gallon. The exterior is quite "hip" for the young and distinquished for us older folks. Although the car appears small, the inside is spacious. We have more elbow space in the AVEO than we do our Cavaliers. The instruments are user friendly and very easy to find and use while keeping both eyes on the road. My left eye is blind, however, the windows and the vehicle structure allows for excellant views. The only blind spot is my left eye. My young daughter drives this car like she has been driving for years. That was not the case when we let her drive our Dodge Ram 1500 or our Chevy Cavaliers...I am not petrified when she is behind the wheel of the Chevy Aveo. She can even park this car with ease, and due to its compact size, it fits anywhere. We just love our 2009 Chevy Aveo. We spend a lot of time fighting over who is going to drive the Aveo; which vehicle we are taking is not an issue any more. The AVEO is a FUN car to drive. We just can't say enough how much we LOVE our Aveo. My husband and I feel 20 years younger driving or riding in this car. I think everyone should own an Aveo. And no, Chevy did not pay me to say all this, I just really want everyone to know how glad I am that I spent one month, every day, going to dealerships and test driving well over 50 cars, both new and used. Thank God I found the AVEO. We didn't even get around the block and I knew this was the car for my daughter. (and her parents too).

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

50.8 MPG

2008-07-14 13:42:23

We baught this car for a test it tested 37.11 MPG brand new on the hwy. We put on the HAFC Hydrogen Assist Fuel Cell by Huttner Enterprises in Dayton MN and now we get 50.8 MPG now thats SUPER!!!!! WE LOVE IT... Eat your heart out Prius!!!!!!!! and 15 grand cheaper....

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

Old man

2007-10-01 01:31:30

I will get you there and back, what else do you need? it has style that looks good .

Its cheap and is good on gas It kind of like a Model T ford that you dont have to crank, nothing Extra but much better than the T that I learned to drive in over 60 years ago . Ted Durgan

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

Firm little car

2007-08-28 12:55:00

At first it seems as though you could push this little baby like a match box. But while sitting and driving the Aveo 5 any misconceptions about this little Korean auto are thrown out the door. Its nimble yet extremely roomy. Well equipped yet inexpensive. I walked away from the lot with a special value model for $8,500 after rebates. The fuel mileage could be better, but at $27 every two weeks for a fill up I am not really complaining. Cheers to the guys and gals at Daewoo and Chevrolet. Nice job.

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

Great Value

2007-08-13 10:11:37

I am my own critic. Always have and always will. Professional auto critics will have you believe that this car is no good. However, these critics test drive high-end sports cars and somehow, I feel they are comparing this car to those.

This car is a fantastic value! The only thing it does very well is provide great basic transportation. As for anything else? Who cares? Anyone seriously considering buying this car is looking for basic transportation.

This car faces stiff competition, but the Fit, Yaris, Etc are more expensive. If you have the money to spend (but not enough to get a ferrari), then get a Fit, Yaris, or whatever.

You will notice that the mpg for this car isnt the best. However, doing some math will tell you that it isnt a big deal. Overall, so far, for me, has been 29mpg. A yaris (my 2nd choice for an econobox) would have probably given me 36mpg. I drive about 700 miles/month, mostly suburban driving. If gas is $2.90/gallon, I would save only $13-$14 per month!!! WHOOPY DOO! Because I got a GM discount on the Aveo, it would have taken me years and years and years to make up the difference in the fuel savings. Your situation may be different then mine, but a few extra mpg wont kill you or the earth. These cars are already efficient.

To answer the big question that you are thinking: it is very fun to drive. It will take off quickly. Again, for the money, this car is crazy-fun to drive. Just remember, if you want fast, get a ferrari and stay away from this car.

I am a poor college student and I needed basic transportation. This car is perfect for just that. If anyone is in a similar situation, look no further- this car is the best choice.

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

DECENT CAR FOR THE MONEY

2007-08-12 08:43:24

JUST PURCHASED A WEEK AGO AN 07' AVEO5 WITH 22K ON IT FOR $9500. FIRST IMPRESSIONS ARE GOOD - I COMMUTE 100 MILES X 5 DAYS A WEEK SO GAS MILAGE IS AN ISSUE. MY FIRST RUN UNDER HOT(90 DEGREE TEMPS EVERY DAY SO AIR WAS ON ALL THE TIME)WAS WHAT I CONSIDER A SUCCESS AS I GOT 32.5 MPG ON MOSTLY HIGHWAY MILES. ENTERING THE X-WAY IS NO PROBLEM AS EXCELERATION TO 60 IS PRETTY QUICK AND IT EASILY HANDLES 70 - 75 MPH WITH NO SHAKING. I'M PLEASED WITH THE RIDE OF THE CAR - THE LOWER LUMBAR SUPPORT FOR THE DRIVER IS A NICE THOUGHT BY THE PEOPLE AT CHEVY FOR COMFORT PURPOSES & ALL CONTROLS ARE EASILY WITHIN REACH WHILE DRIVING. MY AVEO IS A BASE MODEL - AUTOMATIC - AM/FM RADIO - AIR CONDITIONING - REAR WIPERS - BUT IT'S WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR IN A CAR AT THIS POINT IN MY LIFE. THE CAR HANDLES WELL BOTH IN CITY DRIVING & ON THE HIGHWAY - HANDLED SOME DIFFICULT RAIN CONDITIONS AS STORMS BLEW THROUGH OHIO LATE LAST WEEK AND SO FAR HAS HANDLED PASSING SEMI TRUCKS WITH EASE. A LOT OF CAR ISSUES THAT PEOPLE HAVE ARE MORE DRIVER ERROR ISSUES THAN THE ACTUAL PROBLEMS WITH THE CARS. IF DRIVERS LEARN TO USE THE ON RAMPS TO THE MAX, ACCELERATING TO 60-65 WHEN POSSIBLE AS YOU ENTER THE X-WAY, THEN MERGING WITH MORE POWERFUL VEHICLES IS A LOT EASIER. THE SIGHTLINES IN THIS CAR ARE EXCELLENT WHICH HELPS WITH EXPRESSWAY DRIVING, YOU DO FEEL THE BUMPS AS OHIO ROAD CONSTRUCTION CONTINUES IT'S ONSLOUGHT ON OUR SUSPENSION SYSTEMS - ROAD NOISE HAS BEEN A REPORTED ISSUE FROM OTHER REVIEWERS

- SO IF IT'S A LUXURY RIDE THAT YOU'RE SEEKING, THEN THIS ISN'T THE CAR FOR YOU.

I'VE HAD A LOT OF POSITIVE FEEDBACK FROM FRIENDS & COWORKERS AS FAR AS LOOKS ARE CONCERNED ON THIS VEHICLE, THE LINES ARE SLEEK - DESIGNED WELL TO MINIMIZE WIND RESISTENCE AND THE FRONT & REAR LIGHTING SYSTEMS SEEM DESIGNED FOR GOOD FUNCTION AS WELL AS FOR GOOD LOOKS. THE AUDIO SYSTEM IS NOT STATE OF THE ART BY ANY MEANS BUT I KNEW GOING INTO THE PURCHASE THAT I'D BE ADDING AN MP3 PLAYER TO THE MIX. I'M PLEASED WITH MY CHOICE.

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

the worst.

2007-08-04 06:45:00

i traded mine for a ford focus and it is a whole lot better.

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

Review of 2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

2007-07-29 10:38:00

2008 Chevrolet Aveo 5

1 / 1

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: