Volvo Ocean Race Edition 4dr All-wheel Drive
2006 Volvo XC90 Reviews

4 out of 5

tostik

Dec 23, 2015

I bought my '06 2.5T AWD XC90 in 2009 as it was coming off lease and it's been a great car. But first the bad news. The rear bearings went out after a year of ownership -- $900. My independent Volvo mechanic said the seals on the rear bearings were faulty, but they usually failed before 50,000 miles while still under warranty. Mine lasted to 72,000 miles--lucky me. Then about a year later, the right front bearing went out--$400. My mechanic said he'd never a front bearing go out on an XC90. But the good news is that since late 2011, I haven't a repair at all! If you average my repair bill by number of months of ownership, my repair bill is about $17/month. This is late 2015, and I'd love to buy the new 2016 XC90, but I can't justify it because my '06 has been so reliable for the last 3.75 years, and because it still looks great on the outside and the interior is immaculate, especially the leather.Extremely comfortable seats, lots of space--just a very nice place to be. And don't let anyone tell you that the XC90 can't corner. I live in the foothills of Colorado, and I can tell you that it corners very nicely for a big SUV. The reviewers who say it doesn't corner well are novices that haven't done the aggressive cornering I've done. The AWD is 3rd gen Haldex and it is great in the snow and ice, and I've had it off road on old lumbering trails, often driving up steep rocky parts. Lots of fun. I think I'll keep it a few more years. :-D

2006 Volvo XC90


Red XC90 8 cyl AWD

Jul 31, 2011

My wife & I have owned our XC90 for about a 18 months. In the past 12 we have driven over 17,000 and we still love it. The power of the V8 is great, but I wish the MPG was better. We get about 17 average and 21-23 on the highway. We have 2 big dogs and they love to ride around and stick their heads out the window or the sunroof. Volvo dealer service is the best I have ever experienced. We bought our car as a CPO vehicle so it had the extended warranty and volvo has taken care of everything that has come up. They replaced the alternator and battery (which was killed by the alternator) with no questions and they also replaced the front struts because of a "known problem" in the front end. We have driven the car in a foot of snow and driving rain without an issue, it always stays glued to the road. Overall we always have a smile on our face when we are driving our Volvo. We plan to buy another XC90 in about 4 years to replace our Chevrolet Impala SS.

2006 Volvo XC90 V8__4dr_All_wheel_Drive

Review of 2006 Volvo XC90

Apr 30, 2008

It's a dream. I'm so happy with it I bought my wife a S40 AWd & my mother-in-Law got one too.

2006 Volvo XC90 2.5T 4dr All-wheel Drive

Review of 2006 Volvo XC90

Jan 20, 2008

2006 Volvo XC90

Review of 2006 Volvo XC90

Jan 20, 2008

2006 Volvo XC90

Love This Vehicle

Oct 31, 2007

I have had my XC90 for 1 1/2 years and I love driving it. It's a popular SUV in the VA area which states that this is a top hit for lots of families. The ride is very comfortable and the kids love the dvd player. Handles well on long trips and the sound system is fabulous. High recomended.

2006 Volvo XC90

amazing vehicle

Oct 04, 2007

this is my third xc90. i recently totaled my 2006 xc90 when i collided with a dump truck on the highway and i walked away with no injuries at all. my vehicle was completely totaled on the front end, but i walked away without a scratch. thank you volvo!

2006 Volvo XC90

I Hate My XC90!

Sep 04, 2007

I purchased a 2006 XC-90, brand new, a year ago. It has been nothing but a tremendous disappointment since then. The DVD system has never worked correctly since DAY ONE, which unfortunately does not qualify this vehicle for the Lemon Law. It has spent over three months in the shop in a year, nine visits in all, to repair this problem. The Volvo customer service they brag so much about? Its a lie. Don't count on much help if you ever have a problem. The dealership ignores my phone calls, and repeated attempts to contact Volvo directly have been ignored as well. They have my money already, why should they feel the need to help me?? I want my money back on this lemon they sold me, but I"m out of luck. It spent the entire summer in the shop.

The car also makes an annoying squealing, screeching noise any time the a/c is running. This has ALSO been addressed by their incompetent service dept. three times, and STILL is not fixed. My car squeals loudly at me constantly, as the a/c runs nonstop here in Texas. Its EMBARRASSING. I hate having to explain to my friends & neighbors why I'm driving a loaner car AGAIN.

Other things I hate about it: there is virtually no storage space for little things like ipod, phone, pen, and purse; the third seat is awful and a huge pain to fold up & down; there is not enough leg room in the back seat; there is not enough cargo space for my stroller AND groceries; there is a HUGE blind-spot in the back making lane changes, parking, and backing up extremely unsafe; gas mileage is much worse than they lead you to believe; I could go on and on listing things about this vehicle that are irritating.

Its an attractive vehicle, and supposedly one of the safest, which is why i purchased the vehicle in the first place. But, my recommendation is, if you're looking for an attractive, safe vehicle, buy a TOYOTA, a LEXUS, or a BMW. Never, never, never buy a Volvo unless you want to be stuck with the most expensive LEMON you'll ever own.

2006 Volvo XC90

XC90 2006

Aug 24, 2007

I purchased an XC90 in Oct.2006 and have loved driving it. When you climb in and shut the door, you feel like you entered a vault. I have felt safe and secure from day 1. My XC 90 already has over 12000 miles. It is comfortable and smooth. Long trips are not tiring. I have the third seat option, which is not ideal for adults for long trips but it is nice being able to carry 7 adults on short rides.

My only complaint is the blind spots in the rear. When changing lanes on the interstate, one needs to be very careful. My car also came with park assistance. This has been a neat and helpful feature.

Recently I had to swerve sharply to avoid being hit while going 70MPH on the interstate. The car handled quickly and effortlessly.

Also, if your dealership offers the overseas delivery program, look into it. It was a great way to go to Sweden and spend a few days exploring Scandinavia.

I have been averaging about 19.5 MPG. That's with the air conditioner running constantly on highway and suburb roads.

I'd buy another Volvo in a heartbeat.

2006 Volvo XC90

1 / 1

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: