2006 Jeep Commander Reviews

4 out of 5

jeep w/ the hemi and all the options

Jun 27, 2012

I Bought my Jeep in 2007. It had 23k on it when I bought it. Got a great deal paid 24k for it. It had come directly from Michigan , it had the leather interior, the cd player in the back with headphones, the navigation system, tow package, 4 X 4 limited with the 5.7 hemi. It now has 175k miles on it, I have 3 kids. Ages 4,10 and 13...needless to say the car has been through the wringer. I went four wheeling with it , it does not 4 wheel well. It got stuck immediately because of how heavy the car is and it took chains to get me out, not straps which we broke about 10 trying first. I thought with 4 four wheel drive a jeep could handle some good ole alabama mud. It did not, the chevy and ford trucks put me to shame. Now that it is 6 years old- I have a few complaints- they are: the sunroofs leak and it rains in my car when it rains. The door locks are poorly built- every door panel is broke at the handles- found out to replace them it costs 1000 a front interior panel each and 600 for each back panel interior door. That is just 2000 to fix a default I feel is poorly built on their end. I went to junkyards to find more affordable replacements at 50 dollars a pop. Guess what, everyone I found had broken interior door panels- EveryONE of them- That says recall in my book. I have crossed many dirt roads and trees down that were small enough. I have shown lots of property on large dirt parcels and this jeep handles well on rocky steep roads. I just think as far as loose red clay - forget about it. I even got stuck in it at the beach.But as far as repairs to the way it runs- I have had to change oil regularly, change spark plugs twice- there is 16 of them with the hemi. I have had to have fan belt replaced once and fan replaced once. I have had to put 3 new batteries in it. Change 60k mile tires on it 3 times. Hose replaced twice. I have changed front and rear differential fluids twice. All in all it has not cost me a fortune to keep on the road. Car is crazy smart.

2006 Jeep Commander Limited__4dr_4x4


lil lady loves her big boy toy Jeep Commander

Oct 06, 2010

I love my Jeep Commander I bought my used from Sam Swope it only had 28,000 when I bought it...There were only 3 on the lot I was the lucky one to be the first to look and buy others were waiting to buy this Jeep...I'm 4"11 and have always had to sit on a pillow to see how to drive my Jeep I don't...I feel just as big as the 18 wheelers...I have took my jeep on many trips and only had two problems with it which by the way was taken care of because I bought the extended warranty....starter went out and radio had to be replaced...Other than that my Jeep has been wonderful on road and off road....I wouldn't own anything else this was my jeep and it will be all I ever drive again....It does have a blind spot but has mirrors so no problem if you just pay attention to what you are doing.....I would recommend a Jeep Commander to anyone mine has all the bells and whistles and it is a V-8 gas mileage on highway set on cruise I get 18-20 mpg in town 16 mpg if you gun it gas mileage goes very low anywhere from 10-13 mph.....Very roomy no one is cramped up like other vechiles my spouse owns a mdx very cramped for family and nothing but trouble I would never recommend a MDX to anyone GO JEEP IT'S THE ONLY WAY TO GO HAVE FUN AND ENJOY IT

2006 Jeep Commander Limited__4dr_4x4

I LOVE MY JEEP COMMANDER!

Feb 09, 2009

We bought our Commander on Feb. 1, 2006 and to this day, my husband and I agree that this is the best vehicle we have ever owned in our 46 year marriage. We went all out and got the hemi engine, navigation system, Sirius radio, dvd player, chrome wheels and all the bells and whistles. We live surrounded by mountains and this car more than "handles" the mountain roads; it is actually a kick and a half just driving this incredible machine around the twists and turns. The vehicle itself is comfortable to the point where we could drive all day and never tire. We were just talking about how not a single week has passed since we bought our Commander (3 years) that someone has not approached us or stopped us in a parking lot, to remark on the beauty of the vehicle. In three years, aside from routine maintenance (changing the oil and rotating the tires and the ocassional full service maintenance) every 3-4 months, our Commander has not needed a single repair or replacement of anything. It is beautiful, reliable, pulls our trailer with ease, comfortable, even seats 7; who could ask for more from their vehicle. We wish the mileage was a little better as we usually get between 14-18 mpg, but we knew that having the hemi engine was going to cost us some mileage before we bought it, but we needed it to pull our trailer without putting a strain on the engine. We couldn't recommend this vehicle more highly! P.S. I call my black Jeep Commander my "Bad Boy".

2006 Jeep Commander Limited4dr 4x4

Very good vehicle

Dec 27, 2008

We bought a 2006 Commander this year and we love it. I have trouble with my legs and this vehicle has all the room I could ask for to stretch my legs or move them around, whatever I need. There are some blind spots but they are negated with good mirrors and the backup warning system. I usually had problems driving or riding 75-100 miles round trip, but we made 2000 plus trip this past summer and I did fine. I am 6'2" and my wife is about 5'7" and we both can handle it great. It is the best vehicle we have ever driven.

2006 Jeep Commander Sport 4dr 4x2

GREAT SUV!!!!

Dec 13, 2008

We have a V6 AWD base model. Got a great deal! Have owned it for 2+ years. Very solid, great handling SUV. Gas mileage good, 16.5 in city 20+ on highway. Very safe and secure all around good vehicle. Would highly recommend.

2006 Jeep Commander

Review of 2006 Jeep Commander

Dec 13, 2008

2006 Jeep Commander

2006 cheap commander

Aug 26, 2008

I bought my cheap on 12-30-06,this is the first brand new vehicle i have ever bought.Boy what a big mistake.I thought well ok it has some problems but it is a new veh. it will be repaired no problem no questions.Boy was i ever wrong.First problem very bad shake in steering when braking,1st repairless than 1500 miles dlr cut rotors problem came back within3-4 wks.dlr replaced rotors said were warped.i asked if they were going to replace back rotors said they were ok,window on psngr frt door would open after closing if it had rained 4 repair attempts before dlr replaced all components(1 rpr before i bought it)trans. rumbles between 35-45 mph per fact. rep this is normal(getting worse)lots of paint issues(made worse by dlr body shop attempts at repairs so far 4 tries)one of the tires is making wawawawa sound while driving (no problem found per dlr service(non service) dept.no problem found is their way of prolonging repairs until the warranty runs out be insistant do not back down or you will get stuck with it and then they will find everthing wrong that you have been complaining about and you will have to pay or sell the piece of junk you bought and are probably still making payments on.The rear suspension was squeaking the dlr sprayed with lube came back in less than a week.fact.rep says not a lemon that they can fix everything that is wrong with it no problem well now the runs in the paint they removed are back the brakes dont work right rear window washer is lkng inside the veh.tire still noisy trans.still rumbling rear end/susp.sounds like about to fall outwell i am not going away i am going to wait as long as it takes to get to court to here what a judge and jury have to say i have time i can wait those of you that got a good one enjoy it istill like the design and the vehicle overall i just got a bad one dumped on me by a bad dlr.i will not recommend the dlr that ibought it from to anyone,as far as chrysler is concerned i will be staying as far from themas poss.

2006 Jeep Commander Base 4dr 4x4

Great vehicle

Aug 22, 2008

Bought mine last December. A limited 5.7 AWD all the whistles and bells. First I put on Micheline tires extra wide, then Bilstien Shocks. Then a cold air package with K&N removing the stock air box. I switched to Mobil One synthetic oil, and put in a 185 degree thermostat. I also installed a Magnaflow "quiet" performance muffler as well. Sounds nice, adds a little performance. At 35K the bushings were shot in the front end and replaced under warrantee. I had a lot of trouble with the dealer on warrantee as the computer was replaced 3 times. Its now got 46,000 no more problems I really think the dealer would fix one problem and cause two more. I get 17mpg in the CITY, and 20 MPG hwy... next week I'm putting in a Hydrogen Generator and expect the MPG to hit around 35. Overall its a great vehicle, handles good, rides good, interior quality is about "fair" while the Hemi engine is excellent. The real secret to better mileage in the Commander is in addition to the synthetic oil (a must and its cheaper in the long run as it gets 15K between oil changes)is to turn off the "Traction Control" everytime you start the car. This is good for about 2-3 mpg average.99.9999% of the time you don't need it anyway.

2006 Jeep Commander Limited 4dr 4x4

Review of 2006 Jeep Commander

Jul 05, 2008

have had our Commander for a little over a year and a half, and still loving it. We have the 4.7 litre,4X4,with a class V towing package, in which we tow a 24' Layton RV at 65 to 70 mph with very little effort this trailer weighs in at almost 3 tons, we also tow a 24' pontoon at the same speeds with no effort what so ever. In town we are getting around 13 mpg, and on the highway around 16 to 17mpg. The Commander has to be the best all around suv for the money. Something that alot of people tend to forget, is that "Jeep, wrote the book on 4 wheel drive". There has been alot of vehicles come and gone that have tried to copy the Jeep, but it still stands, and it stands alone. And thats the way we like it.

2006 Jeep Commander Base 4dr 4x4

2006commander sport 4.7

Nov 07, 2007

I BOUGHT MINE ON 12/30/07 WITH 8500 OFF STICKER OF 32500.THESE WERE UNADVERTISED REBATES OF 7000 THE REST WAS NOT FALLING FOR THE STARVING SELLER BS.EVEN WITH THE REBATES THEY STILL GOT THEIR FULL PRICE.WELL MY FRONT ROTORS WERE TURNED ABOUT 2 MONTHS AFTER I GOT IT,THE PASSENGER FRONT WINDOW WOULD NOT STAY UP PAINT HAD RUNS IN JAMBS AND ON QUARTERS AND HAS ALOT OF ORANGE PEEL ON THE WHOLE PAINT JOB FRONT END SHOOK BADLY AT HIGH SPEED SO IT WAS JUST RECENTLY ALIGNED AND WHEELS WERE BALANCED REAR TAILGATE LEAKS FROM UNDERNEATH WHEN I WASHIT TRANSMISSION RUMBLES WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH. OH YEAH ANDTHERE WAS THE ABS REPROGRAMMING RECALL AND PROBABLY MORE TO COME.TOO BAD BECAUSE OVERALL I LIKED IT AND THOUGHT IT WAS AGOOD PRICE BUT IT IS ALREADY PAID IN FULL AND ONLY HAS 6900 MILES ON IT.MILEAGE IS DUE TO EVERY TIME I DRIVE IT I FIND SOMETHING ELSE WRONG WITH IT AND I HAVE ALREADY WASTED 18 DAYS AT THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS. I'M THINKING OF PAINTING LEMON YELLOW.BUT ALL INALL THE DEALERSHIP I BOUGHT IT FROM HAS BEEN VERY GOOD WITH THE WARRANTY PROBLEMS DONT TAKE NO FOR AN ANSWER FROM ANY NEW CAR DEALERSHIP.ASK TO SPEAK WITH A MAN.REP IF NO SATISFACTION CALL THE 800 NUMBER IN BACK OF YOUR SERVICE OR WARR. BOOK.OH YEAH I ALMOST FORGOT THIS WAS MY FIRST NEW VEHICLE PURCHASE AND FROM WHAT I HAVE READ ON ALOT OF VEHICLES I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER NEW VEHICLE OF ANY BRAND AGAIN.

2006 Jeep Commander

1 / 3

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: