XLS 2.3L 4dr Front-wheel Drive
2006 Ford Escape Reviews

4 out of 5

Versatile 4WD 22 MPG

Dec 23, 2010

I bought this 2006 Ford Escape XLT new, trading in a 2004 Escape Limited. This vehicle has handled well with little maintenance. It has 63,000 miles and getting rear brakes done and a few other repairs today. I replaced the original tires around 50,000 miles and have had the transmission fluid changed with regular oil changes/tire rotations. Estimate about $1600-1700 in maintenance/repairs/tires in nearly five years - not bad. Mileage is 20-22 depending on traffic, however getting over 22 is nearly impossible as I have tried. The gas tank is small so fill ups are too frequent, which is really the only major issue I have with this model. Interior is comfortable, a bit noisy though. I can haul whatever I need to with this vehicle as the seats are 60/40 and go flat for rear cargo. After owning four Volvos, which required HUGE maintenance/repairs, I'm sticking with Ford!

2006 Ford Escape XLT_2.3L__4dr_4x4

Love my Escape Hybrid

Sep 14, 2007

I own a 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid and I couldn't be happier with its performance. It runs very efficiently and smoothly, exchanging from gas engine to electric motor without notice. Gas mileage is good. I average about 30 mpg, but I do a lot of highway driving (better mpg with city driving.) This is the third Escape that I've had and it is byfar the best one yet. It handles snow and ice just as well as (if not better than) bigger SUVs and uses far less gas. The Hybrid option does cost more than the standard engine, but it's far worth it in my opinion.

2006 Ford Escape Base Trim

Review of 2006 Ford Escape

Sep 11, 2007

This is my 2nd Escape - both leased. This one is a 3year lease. The first was a 6cyl and I was disappointed with the mpg but realize I have a bit of a heavy foot from a full stop. This one is a 4cyl and the mpg is much better - I average 24/25 mpg with a combination of country/city driving. I live in a rural area with frequent trips to the city The slower pickup doesn't bother me and reminds me not to step on the gas as hard as I would like to. I live in the snow-belt of Western NY - on a hill with a steep driveway and have NEVER had a problem with either of the Escapes in snowy conditions. I feel very safe! I LOVE my Escape and will lease another when the time comes.

2006 Ford Escape Base Trim

No Regrets With My Escape

Sep 11, 2007

I love my Escape! It handles well, gets good mileage, is comfortable inside, and can go anywhere in any weather. I use it as a truck, haul things, I even haul a utility trailer(with all sorts of things on it). I have 3 dogs, and they go everywhere with me. It cleans up great after they've been with me. I travel a good deal, going to visit my children. Atlanta, GA and Huntington, WV). That is 9 hours and 6 hours, respectively. And I usually take my sheltie with me on all my trips. I also use a cargo holder on top. I have a 6 disc CD changer, which is usually on all the time, a cell phone in the cig. lighter, and have never had one problem. I have had my Escape for about 2 years (it's a 2006), and I will definitely get another one when I finally wear this one out!

2006 Ford Escape

Review of 2006 Ford Escape

Sep 11, 2007

2006 Ford Escape

Love my Escape

Aug 20, 2007

I bought my escape about a month ago when I traded in my Malibu and I adore it. Handles well in the rain which we have lots of and I feel so much more confident in it. Comfortable and the options are wonderful. My stereo sounds awesome too with the 7 speaker 6 disc audiophile system. My English Bulldogs feel comfy in the very back.

2006 Ford Escape Base Trim

Review of 2006 Ford Escape

Aug 11, 2007

2006 Ford Escape Base Trim

1 / 1

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: