2006 Chevrolet HHR Reviews

4 out of 5

2006 Love it and Hate it

Jun 21, 2010

I have one of the 1st 2006's and owned since new. Everything we love about it has been said before. It truely rates as a great car IF you get a good one. I am not sure my issues are confined to my car. I have replaced the OEM shocks twice, once under warranty, the 2nd a year later for leaks, not on warranty. Numerous electrical shorts from new, mostly chaffing. Exhaust is blown out at 80k but sounding somehwat cool. OEM rotors are terrible, Wagner makes a beefy aftermarket, (Monroe Muffler). Front end tie rods at 70k, left hub at 60k. Although I love it, I would not buy another GM. I took a chance after a 30 year hiatus....won't make that mistake again.

2006 Chevrolet HHR LTSport Utility

Best Car l have ever owned

May 29, 2009

l bought my 2006 HHR in December 2006 and it is the best car out of 78 vehicles l have owned, (l am 78)there are a few things to get used to, window switches in the console, rear seat room tight for a big person and rough ride on not so smooth roads. l really like the Driver Information Center, (DIC) it keeps track of everything, shows MPG, average speed, oil change and many others. the 2.2 engine really gutsy and gas milage average around town, 21 to 25 MPG. best on road was 32.5. My next car will definately be the Heritage High Roof. (HHR)l have had many people buy them because of me.

2006 Chevrolet HHR LSSport Utility

My Chevy HHR

May 28, 2009

I have had a great time driving my 2006 Chevy HHR, but I do have a few comments to make. First off, there are major blind spots! I am not sure if this is the case with similar body styles, but I can hardly see anything when reversing. I also wish that the model I am leasing had a navigation system. I do love how the car just whips around curves, though. Overall, the Chevy HHR is a fun, cheap, and fuel efficient car to drive on today's roads!

2006 Chevrolet HHR LTSport Utility

HHR

Apr 15, 2009

I like my HHR, it is very comfortable and roomy. It is not made to last. I have had to change a tie rod and change the brakes at 37000 miles. I would not buy another.

2006 Chevrolet HHR LTSport Utility

2006 HHR LT2 (The Chop)

Jan 07, 2009

Bought him a year old from a Lexus dealer, which means I got him cheap. They don't want no stinking Chevys on their lot. All kidding aside. Black with 17in polished wheels and Chrome accents. The only way to go on any of the dark colored models. Cashmere interior, leather, sunroof, premium sound w/ sub. We love the car and have named it "Chop" (choptop)we get teased on how it reminds people of an old gangster car. Excellent ride and drive. only had one issue so far. A rattle in the steering column. GM knows about it, don't let them tell you otherwise. Warranty covered it.Joined chevyhhr.net, excellent resource and real-world info, tips, service items, quirks and things that can go wrong with any car. Been very happy with car, can't keep the Mrs. out of it. And best of all...$12,500 and it was mine. American cars are the best used car deals. But do your research.

2006 Chevrolet HHR LT Sport Utility

I Love My HHR and My Dogs Love their HHR

Dec 28, 2008

I bought my HHR in July of 2006, and have been on numerous long road trips in it. Great Gas milage! The heated seats are awesome on someone with a bad back. I can fold the seats down, and make my dogs a nice comfy bed. We took a 6,000 mile road trip this summer, and it was great! My son is 6'3" and has no problem sitting in the back seat. I researched numerous cars, suvs, etc. of all makes before I decided I wanted a HHR. I worked at GM at the time, but that really had no bearing on my purchase!! Your kids, dogs, and grandkids will love it!!

2006 Chevrolet HHR LT Sport Utility

Love my Heritage High Roof (HHR)

Dec 17, 2008

I bought my HHR in April 2006, and I have loved it ever since. I get on average between city and highway driving 27 to 28 miles a gallon. I have nearly 50,000 miles on it and it still runs like new. I love the radio system with 7 speakers and the XM radio/CD, and MP3 capibility on it. The heated seats, the power windows and seats. It is still fun to drive. Sun roof is great here in Florida where I live because it does not bake you cause you can open it any amount that you care to. I love the running boards cause they help you when you wash your vehicle. The paing job has not faded here in the Florida sun. I can not say enought about my HHR because it is still fun to drive and I am a big man as far as weight goes. Try it you will like it.

2006 Chevrolet HHR LT Sport Utility

I love this car!

Jul 21, 2008

The HHR has got to be the single most useful vehicle I've ever owned. It is easy to get into and out of, it handles well, and the ride is much smoother than you'd expect from a car this size. The 2006 has a few minor annoyances that don't exist in later versions, still it's very livable. The car has the same or greater cargo room as many small front drive SUV's, and gets terrific gas milage. Premium is recommended for the 2.4L engine, though it runs fine on regular unleaded or mid grade. I've personally never run my HHR 2LT on premium and have experienced no pinging or loss of power which are the tell tales of needing a higher octane fuel. I would highly recommend the HHR to anyone who needs a vehicle that provides more utility than a normal sedan can offer but doesn't want to feed a heavy SUV or crossover.

2006 Chevrolet HHR LT Sport Utility

Review of 2006 Chevrolet HHR

Jan 05, 2008

2006 Chevrolet HHR

Great Used Car Buy

Nov 04, 2007

I traded a 1996 Grand Cherokee for a used 2006 HHR found using the internet loaded with ever option for under $12,000. HHR is a great used car buy for weekend trips to the beach. Rides nice, quiet, solid and looks particularly good in the dark gray. Fuel economy is best, over 30mpg on Highway when not going over 70 mph. I would recommend to anyone!

2006 Chevrolet HHR

1 / 2

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: