2003 Pontiac Vibe

(10 Reviews)




MSRP
$16,485 - $19,785
Advertisement

2003 Pontiac Vibe Owner Reviews

Average Rating

10 Owner Reviews

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

Fulfilled my needs

Aug 23, 2008 by: Ktanaka64
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

I paid 10k for mine w/ 40k miles on it. Even though I am only 6 feet tall, headroom has been an issue with alot of cars. The Vibe has plenty. I drive from place to place for work so I needed a car with better gas mileage. I get about 25 mpg, and I like to drive, quote, unquote, spirited. The GT let's me have performance, & gas mileage at an affordable price. It handles fine (I even took it autocrossing) and the VVTL-i gives it a nice boost. The thing I like that I didn't consider is the ease of parking the compact car. I have kids, so I wanted 4 door and like the wagon styling and space better than sedans. I like driving a GM brand car, assembled in California. With Toyota quality. I haven't had any major issues yet. Negatives: Dosen't shift as well as I would like. Paint is not the greatest. Even though I have Salsa (red), and I have heard red fades faster. On genvibe.com other owners have complained about the paint being soft. ******* had touch screen nav. But having a nav for the price is nice. I use it for work everyday. Some of the plastic fasteners and a rubber bumper have fallen off. But still a great balance of economy, size, and performance.

Vibe's Faults

Nov 04, 2007 by: AOL user
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

<p>I had a 2003 Vibe, automatic, base engine. It had good features: comfortable seats, good stereo, roomy, nice dash layout, effective HVAC system. Unfortunately the few bad items made the car unpleasant to drive, so I gladly sold it.</p> <p>Average fuel mileage was closer to 20 MPG, not the claimed 30 (check owner&#39;s websites as others had the same experience). No matter how I drov the car, fast or slow, highway or town, the mileage was still around 20 MPG. Terrible for a small four cylinder car.</p> <p>The engine was buzzy and seemed unrefined, and the thinly padded dashboard exacerbated the noise problem. The ride around town was unpleasant, although highway driving was acceptable. My 1996 Corolla gave a better around town ride.</p> <p>Car needs more insulation. It was built cheap, and it shows. The car is great when it&#39;s not driving. My wife drove the Vibe twice, and refused to drive it again.</p> <p>If you don&#39;t mind the poor fuel economy (some owners did get close to 30 MPG) and the buzzy engine, then the Vibe is worth checking out.</p>

Safety

Nov 02, 2007 by: cwhitaker44
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

<p>I just took a rear end blow at 55MPH, with me at a dead stop, and survived. I was amazed at the cars ability to take that kind of hit, so I bought a new one!!!</p>

106,000 and still going strong!

Oct 15, 2007 by: klaitur
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

<p>I LOVE, love, love our Vibe. My husband and I were one of the first to own a Vibe in our little town, and at least 5 other people bought them because of our recommendation, and they all love theirs, too. We have over 106,000 miles on it and the only thing we&#39;ve had done is routine maintenance. I would buy another one, but we have AWD and I hear Pontiac only made front-wheel drive for 2007. BIG MISTAKE!!! Love that AWD!</p>

My little work horse

Oct 11, 2007 by: AOL user
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

<p>I bought my Vibe new in 2002 and I am delighted with its spunk. I do a lot of stop and start driving everyday, due to the nature of my job, and on weekends I load it up with home and garden project materials. I also have two huge dogs (over 100 pounds each) and there is plenty of room for them in the back when we take them out for a ride. The front passenger seats are firm and upright and very comfortable for my fussy lower back. At 40,000 + miles I have had no problems at all. My mpg is much lower than the specs (only 23 mpg city on average) but it may be a result of having to run my air conditioning full force all day in the hot South Florida weather. There are a few design flaws that are a little annoying, but overall it is a reliable, hard working and feisty little ride.</p>

I love my Vibe!

Sep 03, 2007 by: AOL user
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

<p>I bought mine new when they first came out. I have never had to do anything with it except change the oil. I get 40 mile to a gal on trips!!(mine is a standard gear shift and not 4 wheel drive). I have close to 80,000 miles on it and just had new brakes.</p> <p>I love the fact, I can lower the seats and carry 2x 4&#39;s or my bicycle and transport tons of &#34;stuff&#34;. I also love the higher seats which my 94 yr old mother-in-law can climb in and out of easily.</p>

THIS CAR HAS BEEN GREAT.

Aug 30, 2007 by: AOL user
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

<p>I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW WHEN I NEEDED SOMETHING A LITTLE BETTER ON GAS HOPING TO SAVE SOME MONEY. THE CAR HAS PERFORMED PERFECTLY. AND NO I DON&#39;T WORK FOR PONTIAC. THIS CAR HAS 80,000 MILES AND I&#39;VE ONLY HAD TO DO BRAKES AND OIL CHANGES. NO OTHER PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER. AS FAR AS APPEARANCE NO IT&#39;S NOT A CORVETTE BUT IT DOES EVERYTHING I NEED IT TO DO. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS CAR.</p>

Review of 2003 Pontiac Vibe

Aug 04, 2007 by: ethelboden
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

The best car I ever owned

Aug 01, 2007 by: richs112
  • Overall Rating
  • Exterior Styling
  • Interior Comfort
  • Performance
  • Quality & Durability

<p>This car is with out a doubt the best car I ever owned. I have over 150,000 miles on this car and it has never been in the shop. I change the oil every 2 months and rotate the tires every 4 months. My first set of tires lasted 80,000 miles and still had good rubber but was starting to dry rot. My second set ( I replaced them with the same tires) has over 70,000 miles and still look new. I cant say enough about this car. I will buy another one when this one goes. Price has gone up almost $4,000 since I purchased in Jan. of 2004. This car is very comfortable and has plenty of room in the back. This car is more roomy than some SUV&#39;s</p>

*The data and content on this web site is subject to change without notice. Neither AOL nor any of its data or content providers shall be liable for errors in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

Powered by

FIND A GREAT USED CAR

GO
Powered by
Get a free CARFAX record check for a used car

Great Auto Loan Rates

Low Rates on New and Used Autos

Powered By Apply In One Easy Step »