2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser Reviews

3 out of 5

It was fun....

2016-09-02 09:41:05

I bought a 2002 Dream Cruiser in 2013 with 45k on it. Engine and drive train never gave me any issues. Unless you like making your own repairs, I would not suggest buying a used one. I enjoy wrenching, and I always liked the style of these. BUT.... After purchase, the front sub frame rusted in half. Apparently a problem on the early models, especially if they sit a lot. 45k on an 11 year old car, this one obviously sat a lot. I replaced the sub frame with a junk yard replacement. Rebuilt the ENTIRE suspension - front - struts and springs, stab links, stab bushings, control arms, ball joints, tie rod ends. Rear - shocks, stab links and bushings, bell crank, upper and lower watts links. Also replaced at this time - front wheel bearings, pads and rotors all the way around, lower motor mount (torque strut). Under the hood went a cold air intake, new screamin demon coil, Accel wires, E3 plugs. It was never fast, but the cheap bolt on mods definitely pepped it up, and it was fun to drive. Here is the huge problem with these. There are no new aftermarket parts for these - it is mostly new old stock. As a result, by 2015 the control arm bushings were rotted through as well as the torque strut, and suspect new old stock. The bushings were likely dried out and on the verge of dry rot right out of the box because they probably sat on the shelf for 10 years. The watts link system is a joke - the bell crank was making noise again in 10k miles. Online research shows there used to be nice upgrades, but today only OEM is available. I got rid of it at 80k in the summer of 2016. Pretty much every suspension component I replaced was ready to be replaced again. It still ran great with nice firm shifts. Despite a brand new 600cca battery, it never liked winter. Teens it turned over super slow. 0 it barely turned over, like a dead battery. BUT - it ALWAYS started. Never used oil. Crappy 16mpg combined, keeping in mind the few mods and I drove this car hard. Actually, I beat the crap out of it.A lot of people complain of drivetrain issues. I never experienced any - and again, I beat the snot out of this thing. But I also never saw it passed 80k. 5 stars for drivetrain durability. 1 star for limited availability of quality parts. 2 stars for the crappy rear suspension design. 1 star for MPG far worse than my 390hp quad cab Dodge Ram.....

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser


Don't buy this car!

2010-03-05 09:47:16

If you want to spend a ton of $$$ on repairs then this is the car for you! I have had problems about every 3 months with this car ontop of basic regular car maintence! It has overheated on me several times and I've has to replace the cooling fan sensors twice! Do youself a favor and buy a Nissan or Honda! American cars are just crap!

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Plus and Minus

2008-12-16 17:49:55

Loved my 2002 for the room, versatility and initial reliability. Gas mileage sucked though...19 MPG at MOST! After the warranty ran out, things started breaking. Light controls shorted out, windows stuck, brakes and tires wore fast, seat belt buckles failed, engine mount collapsed, manual clutch broke twice. Our mechanic cursed all the "plastic parts" and expensive "kits" Chrysler sells to repair things. To change the timing belt per the service recommendation, you have to take half the engine and the air conditioner/radiator stuff off. EVERY trip to repair something was $1,000+. Last year it cost me $6,000 to keep the thing running! My son bought a lightly used 2006 and is also having electrical issues, transmission repairs and is getting the same crappy gas mileage. We still LOVE the room and style...just hate the repair costs, probably will not buy Chrysler again!

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Last Chrysler i'll own

2008-02-22 10:57:06

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

NOT SO GOOD

2007-09-05 11:38:57

watch out for the brakes. I owned a 2002 PT cruiser and in a years time had to change the brakes 6 times. And the car only had maybe 5000 miles put on it in that year time. We traded the car in and got me a diesel truck.

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Review of 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

2007-09-05 11:09:31

We bought the car in 2002. My wife uses it the most for her business travels. We have taken many long distance trips, 800+ miles with only fuel stops, we tow a trailer when we go from WI to GA, even down to Key West. We have had one wheel bearing replaced and two window mechanisms (frozen windows.

We plan on buying another.

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

PT is great!

2007-09-05 07:08:00

My PT is a 2002, and I bought it new in 2001. The PT still handles beautifully with tight steering and extremely quick handling in whatever I "tell" it to do!

Controls on the dash are perfectly located, and the sound system is strong. There's plenty of leg room for any height person in the front and in the rear. Since I do alot of "hauling" (everything from plants to bales to animals), the easy fold-down rear seats are convenient and efficient for nearly any load. I have even loaded full size 36" exterior doors successfully even though one end was right under the rearview mirror!

As for people, five people comfortably ride with cargo, and the many "stuff pockets" in the seats and doors are a great place to carry daily or travel essentials. Extra drawers under the front seat, ample glove box and console storage provide all the easy access storage I need, and the drink holders are plentiful with two for the front and two for the back. I love the window control's being in the center of the dash and back console...no fumbling at the door or rain on the electricals when the doors are open in a storm for entry/exit!

While the engine has plenty of punch, if I'm fully loaded with folks, down-shifting is a must in the mountains! My PT has a manual-5 transmission and is a breeze to shift...FUN TOO! You folks who think you can't drive a standard are missing a lot of fun driving experiences!!

All over rating from me is 5-star! Nearly 60,000 miles and no repairs! Never waxed and still shining! The ride will allow you to feel the road but there is no vibrating or noise...go anywhere and feel great!

BJ

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Review of 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

2007-09-05 01:12:00

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Review of 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

2007-07-27 09:23:55

MPG suck. every one I have talked to has not gotten good gas milage.

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser

1 / 1

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: