1999 Honda Civic Reviews

4 out of 5

226K, super reliable, cheap to own and very sporty around corners!

Aug 30, 2012

The 6th gen Honda Civics have supreme reliability, and good gas mileage (http://www.fuelly.com/driver/danwat1234/civic). It does as well or better than my mother's 2012 Elantra! I am the 3rd owner and has 226,000 miles on it, mostly highway. Automatic 4-speed transmission, d16y7 engine. The coolant system has a very very slow leak it in it somewhere but everything else is absolutely perfect with this car. Supreme reliability, great suspension, handles really good after installing a rear sway bar and 205/50/R16 tires. I love that this car is so versatile. I plan on installing a trailer hitch so I can tow small trailers with this car too! This car has supreme usefulness. --Favorite Features:: I am very happy that the components under the hood are not tightly packed like newer cars. I was able to add a complete train horn system including the air compressor, 2 gallon air tank and the horns all under the hood and inside the front bumper. There were even pre-drilled holes on the sides of the rails just inside the hood to knit all my zip ties through to secure the components! Awesome. The double wishbone suspension is very nice, especially with the help of good tires and a beefy rear sway bar bought on Ebay. The rear bumper's support beam has lot of pre-drilled and smoothed holes so I could mount a genuine train bell in under there with Zip ties! Later I removed the zip ties and secured the E-bell with a U-********** a crazy easy moddable car. --Suggested Improvements:: Wish my car had a drivetrain like this;;; Direct Injection, Auto start/stop, Electrical system recuperation (what Buick calls E-assist), Cylinder deactivation, Lean burn (if emissions can stay low enough, like the Civic HX), A-VTEC (advanced VTEC), Atkinson valve behavior when engine load is low for more MPG (Honda Earth Dreams engines), Have dashboard illumination lights be more accessible for replacing. Have audio-in jack built into radio. Have paddle shifters so I can shift early to save gas.

1999 Honda Civic DX__2dr_Coupe

Had a 99, loved it

Apr 17, 2009

I had a 99 Honda Civic LX until about a week ago :( It was totaled in an accident. Had no problems with it except the recall on the ignition switch (if the car shuts off for no reason take it to the dealer b/c there was a recall on the ignition switch) other than that I loved it! I'm now on the search for another car possibly a fit or another civic, but that civic was my very first car and I had no problems with it!!!! It had great gas mileage, was quiet, very safe, and overall just a great car!!! I miss it :(

1999 Honda Civic LX4dr Sedan

Original owner of a 99 Civix CX with not even 90,000 miles.

Mar 11, 2009

I bought my Civic CX hatchback on July 4,99 in Maryland and moved back to California with it, and the car's been like my most faithful friend. The red color and not having a CD player are my only complaints. It's a great car and reliable during this time of not being able to afford major maintenance, high gas prices or a new car. Thanks Honda:)

1999 Honda Civic CX2dr Hatchback

honda '97

Oct 04, 2008

Have to take this opportunity to brag about my Honda Civic EX- which will be 11 years old on October 7th. 168,000 miles - full of pep- fun to drive-looks great-and over 30 mpg--- Honda has always been the most reliable well-designed car -always ready to head out on the open road for adventure....................... and to paraphrase another well-known car ad-'When you turn it on, does it return the favor??" YES!!!

1999 Honda Civic EX 2dr Coupe


Jul 19, 2008

Great, reliable car! I drove it for 8 years, 180k miles without any problems, just normal maintenance! (only exception may have been a rusted out B-pipe) Around 190k, some of the "long-term" maintenance things started cropping up... like replacing the catalytic converter, some oxygen sensors and the radiator started leaking. This kind of stuff is normal in the Northeast where the salt they put on the roads eats away at your cars. I could probably drive the car another 100k, but I'm itching for a new car. Would definitely consider the Honda Civic again. I'm just waiting a few years for the plug-in hybrids to come out!

1999 Honda Civic EX 4dr Sedan

Ohio Girl has to yell....

Nov 06, 2007

Anyone else known to have alot of road noise on the newer models? Wanting next year to buy one but won't if this drawback is on the newer models...mine is a 1995. Also owned a saturn, which I loved, but also had alot of road noise.

1999 Honda Civic

going for 250,000 miles

Sep 05, 2007

I LOVE my Civic. My car serves almost as an office because have a job that takes me places all over Washington State (for which I get paid mileage) and I'm soooo ahead of the curve with that. I get 42 MPG on the freeway. I have 194,000 plus miles and (thanks to my husband and the guy at Accurate Auto - who both keep it in top shape) I'm aiming at 250,000 before I trade it in for yet another Civic. Thank you Honda.

1999 Honda Civic Base Trim

Best small car around

Aug 09, 2007

I have a 1997 Honda Civic with 144,000 miles on it and it is still going strong. Very few problems and only routine maintenance. My gas mileage is in the 30-34 mpg range and with gas prices so high this is a big plus. I am sure the 2007 model is equally as good (possibly even better) and would recommend the Civic to anyone looking for a great, economical vehicle that will last for years!

1999 Honda Civic

Honda Civic EX Coupe Auto

Aug 03, 2007

Solid car. No issues other than normal wear & tear. Used for daily commute (70 miles RT) Up to 170k miles and still running strong and get great mileage (30+ MPG). Would consider buying another.

1999 Honda Civic Base Trim

1 / 1

Own or Drive this Vehicle? Write a Review

Overall Rating: