Ten states impose EV flat fees; Georgia is highest
Washington, Colorado, Virginia And Oregon Also On Growing List
Georgia imposes a $300 annual fee for commercial electric vehicles and $200 for non-commercial plug-ins. Idaho's fees top out at $150 for electric vehicles and $100 for hybrids. Eight other states, including North Carolina, Nebraska, Colorado and Virginia, impose fees ranging from $100 to $43 (oh, those Oregonians always like to make things a little funky, don't they?).
Washington State, which started instituting its $100 electric-vehicle fee about three years ago, boosts that to $150 in July for EVs that can travel at least 30 miles on a single charge. That state's plug-in hybrids with at least a 30-mile electric-only range will receive a $100 tariff. For the full overview of the ten states and how much they charge, take a look at the Energy Department's chart here.
Meanwhile, the feds are doing their part to add revenue streams for much-needed highway repairs as gas taxes fall because of steadily improving fuel economy. This past summer, federal legislators drummed up what's called the DRIVE Act, which is a rather complicated bill designed to help pay for US highway repairs during the next six years. It is still working its way through Congress.
- Most and least efficient car companies
- Fastest-depreciating cars in the United States
- Find and compare 2017 Models