It turns out that Scott Speed won't be the only high-profile driver switching for Formula E for the upcoming race in Miami. So too will former Le Mans winner Loïc Duval.

Though clearly more accomplished in endurance prototypes, Duval is no stranger to single-seaters. He worked his way up the formula racing ladder, competing in Formula Renault, Formula 3 and A1 GP. He won Japan's Formula Nippon championship in 2009 and the Super GT title in the same country the following year before switching to endurance racing.

There he drove first for Peugeot and then for Audi, winning the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the World Endurance Championship together with Allan McNish and Tom Kristensen in 2013. He endured an enormous crash when practicing for Le Mans last summer, but apparently recovered just fine.

The Miami ePrix will mark his first outing in the all-electric racing series. What strikes us a little odd, though, is that he won't be driving for the Audi-supported Abt team, but for Dragon Racing instead. There he'll take Oriol Servia's place to drive alongside former F1 driver Jérôme d'Ambrosio.

Duval will be the first Le Mans winner to drive in Formula E, though the roster has included several runners-up (like Stéphane Sarrazin, Lucas di Grassi and Franck Montagny) and class winners (like Antonio Garcia and Nick Heidfeld).

I'm reporting this comment as:

Reported comments and users are reviewed by Autoblog staff 24 hours a day, seven days a week to determine whether they violate Community Guideline. Accounts are penalized for Community Guidelines violations and serious or repeated violations can lead to account termination.

    • 1 Second Ago
  • From Our Partners

    You May Like
    Links by Zergnet
    Share This Photo X