New Colorado law makes it easy to sell electricity to EVs
A new state law will take effect in August whereby, for $5,000, you can get a permit to sell electricity at a vehicle recharging station. Given that around 1,200 EVs are registered in the state, Governor John Hickenlooper says the new law will encourage more businesses to install vehicle chargers. The Denver Post reports that there are around 60 charging stations in the state ("most" of them currently free), including 40 at various Walgreens. Dave Altman, regional development and government sales chief for Eaton, told the paper that he expects $1-an-hour battery charging to become a reality soon.
Earlier this month, Audi released a video about the e-tron pilot project featuring the plug-in A3 hatchback in Colorado. There's also a federal program, Fostering Electric Vehicle Expansion in the Rockies (FEVER) that, well, the name describes what it's about.
- Great used cars for less than $10,000
- Owners say these cars aren't very good deals
- New Car Buying Guides
- Cheapest new automobiles in America
- Fastest-depreciating cars in the United States
- Find and compare 2017 Models