For the 2011 model year, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has implemented tougher crash testing procedures that make it more difficult for vehicles to receive a five-star rating. The new test is known as the NCAP, or New Car Assessment Program, and the first batch of cars were evaluated earlier in the year. Ten more vehicles have been subjected to the NCAP, and the results are promising... for most.

General Motors received high marks for its Lambda triplets – the Buick Enclave, Chevrolet Traverse and GMC Acadia – with all three netting five-star ratings. Not all GM products received a gold star, however – the aging Buick Lucerne only received a three-star rating under the new test procedures. Honda's Accord sedan also received a five-star rating, however its main competitor, the Toyota Camry, didn't fare so well. Both the gasoline- and hybrid-powered Camrys only received three stars.

During the first batch of testing the average score was four stars, so the five-star ratings here are good news for GM. Previously, only the Hyundai Sonata (after being revised and retested) and BMW 5 Series received the coveted five-star rating.

The National Highway Safety Traffic Administration plans to test 55 cars in total before the year is over, and the full results of the latest testing can be viewed at

[Source: via The Detroit News]

I'm reporting this comment as:

Reported comments and users are reviewed by Autoblog staff 24 hours a day, seven days a week to determine whether they violate Community Guideline. Accounts are penalized for Community Guidelines violations and serious or repeated violations can lead to account termination.

    • 1 Second Ago
  • From Our Partners

    You May Like
    Links by Zergnet
    Share This Photo X