What happens when you get pinched going over 100 MPH
Well, it depends.
The pain you will soon feel in your wallet (and the amount of time you possibly spend incarcerated) will vary state-to-state. In California, the two points you gain on your driving record will be accompanied with up to a $500 fine and possible jail time. In Virginia, your bank account will lighten by up to $2,500 and there is mandatory time behind bars. Many states use a sliding scale to determine penalties, while others automatically suspend licenses (in addition to the aforementioned treats).
Is there a child in your car, alcohol on your breath or did you make more than a few lane changes as you dodged the normal flow of traffic? Let's hope you weren't racing. If so, reckless driving may be added to your infraction. In many cases, that is a free upgrade to a possible misdemeanor criminal offense. Things get ugly rather quickly, and a decent attorney starts to look attractive, especially if you have been caught before.
According to the experts, the easiest way to avoid this heinous plot... is to simply start slowing down.
[Source: AOL Autos]
- Most and least efficient car companies
- Fastest-depreciating cars in the United States
- Find and compare 2017 Models