Leaked Ferrari document reveals details of project FX150

Click above to view the letter
An internal document has apparently gotten lost somewhere along the information super-highway leading from Maranello to Beijing. The letter, bearing the signature of Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo, contains vital information on a new supercar coming from Ferrari.
The successor to the Enzo and beneficiary of the FXX program is labeled as prototype "FX150". According to the document, the supercar will be powered by a mid/longitudinally-mounted twin-turbo V8 producing 794 horsepower and 772 Nm of torque (approximately 570 lb-ft) hooked up to a version of the seven-speed dual-clutch transmission already launched on the California codenamed SF3 (presumably for the third-generation SuperFast gearbox) with shift times down to 50 milliseconds. The carbon fiber construction is said to keep weight down to 1300 kg (~2866 lbs), which, when coupled with the nearly 800hp on tap, is anticipated to propel the FX150 to 100 km/h (62 mph) in a blisteringly fast 2.7 seconds en route to a top speed of 390 km/h (242 mph). Testing is stated to begin next month with an eye towards releasing the car sometime next year with a price tag between 1.2 and 1.3 million euros, which is even more than the Bugatti Veyron. It's not that hard to fake an official document, however, so click above to check it for yourself.
UPDATE: We've received correspondence from some fellows who claim responsibility for creating the fake "leaked" document from Ferrari. Turns out it was all just a spoof.[Source: FerrariChat.com and euro car blog]







Get a WordPress.com Blog




Reader Comments (Page 1 of 2)
Seminole 10:31AM (9/18/2008)
Why oh why don't I ever win the lottery?
Reply
dejal 10:33AM (9/18/2008)
Why would it be in English?
Reply
steve 10:51AM (9/18/2008)
and i thought those euros put the date with they day before the month ie 10/3/08, not 3/10/08
GForce1015 1:18PM (9/18/2008)
Yeah no kidding the English gave that one away instantly.
Chris 10:39AM (9/18/2008)
Fake! The cheesy "Top Secret" gives it away. Anyone else would have written "Confidential" or "Classified."
Reply
LDMAN 11:32AM (9/18/2008)
I believe it. If you were familiar with Italian companies you would too.
Chris 10:47AM (9/18/2008)
My thoughts exactly...although it would not surprise me if a car similar to the one described was in the works.
Adam Marcello 10:40AM (9/18/2008)
Am I the only one wondering why that letter is so jam packed full of information on the car? And also why its in English? And also why information like this is still sent by post?
I mean I hope its true, cause the cars going to be rediculously awesome but it just seems this letter is too perfect for me.
Reply
BigMcLargeHuge 10:54AM (9/18/2008)
"Top Secret:
Here is everything the car bloggers would want to know.
Signed,
the president."
Yeah, its all a bit too convenient.
steve clark 10:44AM (9/18/2008)
I call "Fake."
Reply
Hugo Reis 11:05AM (9/18/2008)
LOL. Does someone really believe this sort of letter just "leaked" from Ferrari offices? I wonder what would be the purpose of a letter with that kind of detailed info inside the firm. It makes it sound like he's announcing something new to the firm and yet he already has all those details.
Reply
teflon 11:21AM (9/18/2008)
That letter is so fake that Autoblog should be ashamed for having posted it. You guys need a few minutes alone in the penalty box for this one.
Reply
Early Apex 11:05AM (9/18/2008)
Sounds like it was written by marketing personnel.
Top Secret! The new FX150 features class-leading luggage space, available stow-n-go seating, and 5000% more horsepower than either Camry or Accord. Remember, it's secret! Shhhh! Don't look for it in 2009 at your local Ferrari dealer!
Reply
nmd 11:05AM (9/18/2008)
I agree, fake! The letter is addressed to no one, and contains no actual request, question, direction, nothing. Its a bunch of random facts with a signature on the bottom, so unless someone has cut out the rest of the letter, it looks like nonsense.
Reply
Alex 11:08AM (9/18/2008)
I call bogus. Who is this letter going to? Why would this information be written in this manner, in english no less?
They are just begining testing at the end of 2008 for a 2009 model release? I don't think so.
Reply
Alex 11:10AM (9/18/2008)
Hey mods, can we have Bob the Bot here booted?
thx.
Reply
Bob 11:26AM (9/18/2008)
Im not a bot :) I love this site.
Reply
Kitko 11:15AM (9/18/2008)
Anyone seen Nigel Stepney?
Reply
rengle 11:17AM (9/18/2008)
this fake as the phone number is in China not Italy.
Ferrari Maserati Cars International Trading (Shanghai) Co., Ltd.
Add: 4702#, Wandu Center Plaza, 8 Xingyi Road.,Shanghai.
P.C.: 200336
Tel: 86-21-52082959
Fax: 86-21-52082958
Reply
mattskull16 12:12PM (9/18/2008)
Fake, because when you look at the Euro 5 emission standard, it should be written g/km, but the guy who made up this letter wrote g/kg.
Reply