Soon, smoking in cars with children will be illegal in California
Starting January 1st, 2008, just a few days from now, it will be illegal to smoke in a car with a minor (someone under the age of 18) in California. The "Smoke-free Cars with Minors" law covers parked cars and cars in motion, and the police can pull you over just to see if you are smoking with a child in the car. California joins three other states in banning smoking in a car with a child and the crime is punishable by a fine of up to $100. A 2006 Surgeon General's Report says there is no safe level for exposure to second hand smoke and children can't exactly defend themselves, but do you think this is an invasion of your personal rights or a good way to clean up the environment inside a car?
[Source: Record Courier, California Chronicle]
- Volvo shoots for self-drivers by 2021
- Jeep spends $1 billion on factories
- Find Parts & Accessories for your vehicle!
- Obama rolls out new EV plan
- Infiniti dealers ranked best, Tesla worst
- Compare Volvo XC90 and Lincoln MKX