- Jul 20, 2007
New fines for teen speeders in MA come in one size: XXXL
Based on recent moves in Indiana, Virginia, the PSA's in Australia, and now Massachusetts, speeding of the teen and adult varieties is the latest headline-grabbing menace to society. Massachusetts' Junior Operators' License Law, which outlines the punishments meted out to traffic offenders under the age of 18, was recently strengthened.
One of the first victims was Jackie Crawford, four weeks shy of her 18th birthday, who was given a ticket for going 35 in a 25. First came the $100 fine. Then came the 3-month license suspension. Then came mandatory attendance in the State Courts Against Road Rage program, as well as a driver attitude retraining course -- both of which her mother had to drive her to because Jackie's license was suspended. Then came the $500 fee to have her license reinstated. But she won't actually get her license back until she retakes both the written and the driving tests again... and pays the fees for those as well. In MA, 25 means 25, especially if you're under 18.
Thanks for the tip, Dylan!
[Source: Worcester Telegram via Car Advice]