These are not the words a teenager living in the sunny state of Florida wants to hear, but they could be assaulting his or her young ear drums if a bill introduced in the Florida State Legislature is passed. HB 975 would require the state’s minimum driving age to be raised from 16 to 17 years old. Rep. Irv Slosberg (D-Boca Raton) introduced the bill and states the extra year would give teens more time to gain maturity needed for safe driving.
While Inside Line does point out that the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety performed a study that shows 16-year-olds were twice as likely wreck their rides as people 18 to 19 years old, this bill still has the stench of political grandstanding hanging overhead. Florida, however, already has a track record for imposing restrictive measures on young drivers, including one that restricts how late at night a driver under 18 can be out on the road.

I'm reporting this comment as:

Reported comments and users are reviewed by Autoblog staff 24 hours a day, seven days a week to determine whether they violate Community Guideline. Accounts are penalized for Community Guidelines violations and serious or repeated violations can lead to account termination.

    • 1 Second Ago
  • 2015 Toyota Highlander
    MSRP: $29,765 - $44,140
    2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee
    MSRP: $29,995 - $64,895
    2015 Honda Accord
    MSRP: $22,105 - $33,630
    2015 Honda Civic
    MSRP: $18,290 - $26,740
    2015 Mazda Mazda3
    MSRP: $16,945 - $25,545
    Share This Photo X