Last week, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) issued a proposal that, if passed, will require all automakers to post their vehicle's safety rating on its window sticker towards the end of 2007.

The rating, measured in one to five stars (remember grade school?) will show how the vehicle performed in tests such as front and side impact.

While the new rating system will affect all model year 2008 vehicles, the NHTSA will let the automakers determine where to place the stars on the window sticker.

Honda Motors already displays safety stars on its 2006 model year vehicles voluntarily. The pictured Honda Ridgeline, for example, has a five-star rating.

I'm reporting this comment as:

Reported comments and users are reviewed by Autoblog staff 24 hours a day, seven days a week to determine whether they violate Community Guideline. Accounts are penalized for Community Guidelines violations and serious or repeated violations can lead to account termination.

    • 1 Second Ago
  • From Our Partners

    You May Like
    Links by Zergnet
    Cars for Sale Near You

    Share This Photo X