The site does the arduous legwork for you and presents Audi's complicated history in bite-sized chunks. The four rings symbolize four formerly independent auto manufacturers: Audi, DKW, Horch and Wanderer. The companies fused in 1932 under the moniker Autounion AG, but still produced cars with individual branding. A new company was founded due to Soviet expropriation after WWII. The company relocated to Ingolstadt under the name Auto Union GmbH, and was later acquired by VW in 1965. Audi later merged with NSU, a manufacturer of cars, bicycles and knitting machines under the sprawling appellation Audi NSU Auto Union AG. In March of 1977, the name was streamlined to what it is today, Audi AG. Phew.

I'm reporting this comment as:

Reported comments and users are reviewed by Autoblog staff 24 hours a day, seven days a week to determine whether they violate Community Guideline. Accounts are penalized for Community Guidelines violations and serious or repeated violations can lead to account termination.

    • 1 Second Ago
  • From Our Partners

    You May Like
    Links by Zergnet
    Share This Photo X